We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for three days during a road trip . Had booked a two bedded queen room . On arrival reception said we were "Upgraded" . The only upgrade we could see was that it had a small balcony and was facing the sea. However it was on a really busy road right near traffic lights so you can imagine the noise! Having said that the room itself was big and bright and clean. The hotel had a very small pool that suffered from shade at various times of the day and there were so few sun loungers and chairs it was not a viable prospect really. Apparently there were new owners. The worst thing was breakfast....very limited choice and the seating are was so small that often people were standing or sitting outside. It was so cramped it was unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your honesty and the time you took to write your feelings. Our harborfront and beachfront location puts us on Cabrillo Blvd. the busiest street in Santa Barbara for vehicle traffic virtually year round. We have recently installed sound insulating sliders to our balconies trying to eliminate the sound issue and they work marvelously. Our pool and its location is a product of construction from over 60 years ago and unfortunately can't be changed. However, as for breakfast, as the new General Manager, I immediately noticed the issues involved in breakfast and seating and I am excited to say that I have secured funding to renovate the entire lobby area inclusive of a beautiful new breakfast room and more fun amenities. You happened to have been here during a very busy summer season and experienced a very busy hotel. As for breakfast, your comments surprise me as we provide far and above any minimums required by Best Western international and 99% of our guest are quite satisfied with our complimentary breakfast.

Wishing you safe travels and fun experiences

HJ Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay in Santa Barbara. We are so happy we chose this hotel -- great location, which is across the street from the harbor and beach. Harvey Robbins, the general manager and Josh, the front office manager have created a very hospitable staff which were extremely friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was of very good quality and well presented. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We suggest requesting an ocean view on the third floor with balcony -- we were surprised by how quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hello Patricia,

Thanks for the kind words and kudos. We're all working very hard as the "New Team" operating this hotel. Its so much fun for us, as you had seen, I hope our other guests will see as well, We're passionate and enjoy what we do everyday. How could we not, we're on the oceanfront in Santa Barbara.

Thanks again and see you next time. You know where to find us.

All the best

HJ Robbins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want inexpensive rooms (they have been remodeled), a clean pool, and a great location. However, it is not for people who want real comfort and amenities. Plastic furniture (one chair) adorns the patio, which has great potential if it were properly decorated. This is your standard Best Western motel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor have street noise, but nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xelajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, the staff very helpful and its right infront of the harbor. A few streets away Stearn's Warf and State St. ( the backbone of Santa Barbara). Free Breakfast and wifi too. Will definitely stay here when I come back to visit Santa Barbara again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pot2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we had a beachfront room with a balcony right across the beach. great location!

Pros:
- location
- price
- balcony

Cons:
- some outlets didn't work
- electrical card lock didn't work - had to have security/maintenance let us in every time
- every TV channel was staticy / fuzzy

overall, the pros outweigh the cons.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

They had vacant rooms but the best deal they would give us was $227.00 for 1 night stay. For the facilities this is expensive. Room was good and clean but we arrived at 8.pm that evening and checked out in the morning so didn't get chance to use any other facilities. The breakfast was very basic but complimentary.

We had been led to think that you can walk in off the street to get a good deal on a room for the night in the USA. This was not our experience and panic was setting in as to where we would stay for the night so we paid it. My advice would be to book before going to get a better deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived for the weekend and received a small floor level room. The room was clean but like I mentioned, very simple. A bed, TV, table and a bathroom. It was perfect for just putting your stuff down and going to bed at night. The pool is cute and was well kept. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. I'd recommend as weekend stays in Santa Barbara can get quite expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cueball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $169 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing