We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They had vacant rooms but the best deal they would give us was $227.00 for 1 night stay. For the facilities this is expensive. Room was good and clean but we arrived at 8.pm that evening and checked out in the morning so didn't get chance to use any other facilities. The breakfast was very basic but complimentary.

We had been led to think that you can walk in off the street to get a good deal on a room for the night in the USA. This was not our experience and panic was setting in as to where we would stay for the night so we paid it. My advice would be to book before going to get a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    307
    124
    43
    31
See reviews for
279
313
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived for the weekend and received a small floor level room. The room was clean but like I mentioned, very simple. A bed, TV, table and a bathroom. It was perfect for just putting your stuff down and going to bed at night. The pool is cute and was well kept. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. I'd recommend as weekend stays in Santa Barbara can get quite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cueball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely time here. The location was brilliant, you could walk to the harbour pier and beach, it was a little further to walk to the shops. The staff were helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean, I thought it might be noisy but it was very quite and we all slept well. The pool was clean and very warm!
There was free wi-fi and there was a good selection for breakfast, but some mornings it was busy .
Overall a lovely stay made perfect by the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great spot in Santa Barbara. Very very good location. It is set up motel style with the doors opening to the outside but overall not too big of a deal although we had a balcony. The room we had overlooked the park and had plenty of room. The beds were also very very comfortable, if you like soft plushy beds. It was actually surprising how comfy they were compared to other decent hotels. Can be a bit noisy because of the set up but not too bad. Breakfast was nice. Free wifi. Person who checked us in was very nice and helpful and offered advice on things to do without even asking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Decent room in a terrific location. Walking distance to beach, pier, State Street. Not too noisy. Room had recently been updated. Nice beachy colors. Ask for quiet room. Had balcony and view of park. Good value in pricey locale

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cate014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 during a California road trip. It was exactly what I expected.

PROS:
1. Location is very good in front of the water. You are on the main road and walking distance to the pier and a few restaurants. However you are not walking distance to the downtown area. If you wanted to walk it would be a couple miles to get to where most shops are. We walked to Enterprise Fish and Co. and that was the farthest we went at night. During the day you might feel comfortable going further.
2. Very clean room
3. Okay breakfast - good enough to be free, and the breakfast area is nice and clean not dingy. When we were eating one of the hotel staff came up and cleared our breakfast and chatted with us.

Cons:
1. Small room - the bathroom is tiny not tub just a small stand up shower.

I would definately stay here again if visiting Santa Barbara on a budget. I would assume during summer time this hotel would be more expensive and some people may not justify spending over $150 for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
264 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice Best Western. The location is key. It's right across the street from the beach, a short walk from the pier, across the street from a park, and a quick stroll from downtown. It's also not far from the 101. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the shower was nice. The staff was also friendly and accommodating. It has a nice litle pool too. My only complaint was the shutters let in a bit more light that I would have liked. Overall this was one of the nicest Best Westerns I've stayed in. I'd definitely go back next time I'm in Santa Barbara.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing