We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzio Review 7/13/14”

Palazzio Trattoria Italiana
Ranked #314 of 532 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
“Palazzio Review 7/13/14”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

There were three of us that ate an early dinner. My wife and I split a full portion of a seafood spagettini that was very tasty. The sauce was good and a fair amount of seafood. My daughter had a 1/2 order of another pasta with sausage in it and she also liked the sauce. The pastas were good, but not great. We all really liked their garlic rolls. Ended up with pasta doggie bags for another meal at home for all of us.

I was disappointed with their drink pricing. My wife had their house wine for $5, which tasted OK, but nothing great. Charging $6.50 for a 5 ounce glass of milk is a rip-off. Also, charging $3.95 for a soft drink seems to be on the high end of the market that this restaurant is targeting.

Bottom line - Food is good, be careful on your drink orders.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    17
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Huge portions!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here but beware the portions are HUGE, the staff will show you the bowls so that you can judge for yourself.
The sauce on the mac cheese pie was amazing.
Great friendly staff and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Insanely huge portions!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Fun place. Service decent, but it is a popular, busy venue, so expect to have to wait for a table. However once seated, one shouldn't have to wait so long for the meal to arrive.

Insanely huge portions. I'm not sure what the concept is, but half of a half portion is about a usual American meal size. How about just have standard-sized portions and charge 1/4 or 1/2 the price?

Good place to visit. We tend to stop here every year or two, and really like the atmosphere, the decor generally and the phenomenal artwork on the ceiling.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went there for a birthday dinner. I haven't been in years. I remember it was really good. The pasta dishes had no flavor at all. We all had to add salt, pepper and cheese. The baked macaroni was good, except a little too baked. The edges were not edible. We had very good service, everyone there were very nice. The portions were big, but so was the bill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We used to frequent Palazzio and our most recent visit will most likely be our last. We had to send back the manicotti because the cheese tasted old moldy and the fill your own wine glass was a joke...basically shot glass you fill with swill.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chocogm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzio Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Palazzio Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing