We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Italian people”

Palazzio Trattoria Italiana
Ranked #290 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not for Italian people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Very large portions, but pasta was not for Italian taste: too soft (non "al dente") and cooked without salt.
Maybe ok for American taste, but not at all for Italian taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    17
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Entrees overpowered by salt, salt, garlic, basil and much more salt.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I ate here while attending a conference at the Bacara Resort, in July of 2013. This is an Italian Restaurant, but I question if the chef and or the owners, are Italian. The dishes are Italian, but cooked with no attention to how the ingredients are combined. My wife had tomato basil soup, a chicken/pasta dish and I, the Chicken Marsala.
We sampled each others entrees and found all the same, in that all ingredients: Marsala, tomato, etc., were overpowered by salt, to the extent that the only discernible favors were salt, basil and garlic.

The waitress was sweet, but got the orders wrong.

The soup went back and was taken off of our bill. But even with that, our check was almost $100.00. I had one beer and my wife a cocktail.

Don't waist your time, or your money!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Too much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The amounts were over the top which would have been fine but the flavor wasn't there. I love family style but I love it to taste like home cooking and this tasted like cafeteria food. No thanks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much...of everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'll start with the food. There is a lot of it. So if you are a big eater, you won't be disappointed. However, I would say the quality is underwhelming. This is not good Italian food in my opinion. I had capellini pomodoro which should be a very simple dish. It was way too salty. My husband had the lasagna and the meat was just overwhelming. The menu is huge and I always think about Gordon Ramsay's show and how he always recommends a smaller menu with options that are very well done. That is not the case in this place.

Then there is the decor. I don't normally comment on the decor as I'm usually more about the food (unless cleanliness is an issue). I'm not sure what the theme was. Eclectic? There were Renaissance type paintings on the ceiling, kitschy aquatic stuff hanging on the walls, track lighting, light up neon signs, and let's not forget the disco ball. Made me wonder if this place turns into a night club or something. We just happened to stumble upon the place when we were in Santa Barbara so I didn't/don't know anything about it. In any case, I was confused by what was going on. It was like sensory overload...kind of how I felt about the food. Just too much. Add to that the portion sizes and you have my review title.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SOOO Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stumbled upon this treasure on our last evening in Santa Barbara. Absolutely great casual atmosphere, and the staff was all so friendly. The entree portion is HUGE. Seriously, they give a new definition to family style. The food is fresh and delicious. Go hungry! We plan to visit from now on when we are in Santa Barbara.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMSALYMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzio Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Palazzio Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing