We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Food was excellent”

Wine Cask Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wine Cask Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar, International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canon Perdido
Description: DOUG MARGERUM and MITCHELL SJERVEN'S Wine Cask, located in downtown Santa Barbara in the historic El Paseo complex, offers the best of all worlds to enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner in a stylishly relaxed setting. Their passion is great food, the highest caliber of service and bringing back the comfort and nostalgia of one of Santa Barbara's favorite restaurants. Indulge in great foods featuring the freshest local ingredients and select from the best wine list in town, not to mention signature cocktails that change regularly. Whether you're looking for a casual drink and shared plates alfresco in the Mediterranean courtyard or nestled up in front of the fireplace, or feel like a lively dinner in the main room, you'll find what you're craving at the Wine Cask.
Coral Gables, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Food was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We did not have reservations and eventhough it was a very busy week-end night for them, they were able to sit us right away close to the fireplace (romantic). The waiter very knowledgeable with the menu and excellent recomendations

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianaEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    62
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our first visit to the Wine Cask. We had a party of eight, in celebration of my son's graduation from college. The food, service, and dining atmosphere were impeccable. Highly recommended are the salmon, pork chop, and New York steak. All were cooked to perfection, served hot, and prepared beautifully. Just one nit: the panzanella garnish on the pork chop was too salty and the butterscotch pudding for dessert was a big yawn.

But all in all, this was a very pleasurable experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice fine dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We decided to try this restaurant on the advice of a friend whose husband is a chef. They apparently visit the Wine Cask every time they come through Santa Barbara so we thought we'd give it a try at least once.

The food in general was very good. I had the pan-roasted chicken which was flavorful, tender and juicy. The accompanying side dishes...mashed potatoes and glazed carrots were terrific...a perfect pairing with the chicken breast. My daughter had the pork chop which was a enormous piece of meat; at least and inch and a half thick! If you know anything about cooking pork, you'll appreciate how easy it is toughen meat by over cooking it. My daughter reported that it was tender and juicy as well albeit it a bit salty. She gave it an 8 on a scale of 1 to 10. My husband had the tuna which was also a winner. If you like sushi, then you'll like this dish as it is prepared rare. He also had the the crab cakes (which I sampled)...they were fabulous. The coffee was strong and fresh and went very well with the chocolate brownie we shared for dessert. All-in-all it was a lovely meal and the wait staff were all very attentive.

Oh and they also have a great wine selection (hence the name of the restaurant). They had some moderately priced wines and also some very high end wines. So, if you find yourself in Santa Barbara and are celebrating a special occasion, this is great spot for a special meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Went here for my daughter's graduation and had a fabulous meal. The New York strip was tender, flavorful and perfectly cooked. I had roasted chicken which was crisp and flavorful on the outside and tender and moist on the inside, what you hope for; rarely get. The Salad Lyonaise was incredible, bacon pardons, croutons and a bacon vinaigrette with a poached egg! My daughter had a mushroom vol au vent with a great flavor. For Deseret a homemade carmelized apple ice cream with intense apple flavor. Everything was superb and we will definitely return. Our waiter was very attentive and when the food was a little slow coming out he gave me a free glass of wine and apologized. It was ucsb graduation so they were busy with a several large parties which probably backed up the kitchen. We totally understood.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesitaly96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Great food, fantastic wine list -- cheerful, friendly service. The space is fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotPantsMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Cask Restaurant also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Wine Cask Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing