We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio, terrible food”
Review of Bucatini

Bucatini
Ranked #111 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice patio, terrible food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service, location, and patio were great. The food was terrible. I had the mushroom risotto, which was very under cooked and looked like white rice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katyg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    96
    45
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Get past the location, the food is always perfect here.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been dining here for over 10 years. Its always quite busy in summer due to their large outdoor patio. As they only have a few tables indoors, the restaurant slows down in winter. They do have great heaters on their patio now and we were very warm during our last meal. This is my favorite for Italian in Santa Barbara. Better than Ca'Dario, better than Trattoria Molllie in Montecito, better than Olio Limone. The brown butter sage raviolo, fusilli tartufati, puttanesca, pizzas, carpaccio.... well EVERYTHING here is delicious and if you have not tried it yet you are MISSING out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great dinner well prepared!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My daughter, husband and I stopped in on a very cold evening this past week and enjoyed a well prepared Italian dinner in a cozy atmosphere. My husband enjoyed a chicken pasta, my daughter a pizza, and I had the eggplant appetizer. Warm, delicious bread was served with our meal. Our waitress was delightful. A very nice restaurant. Had it been warmer outside, it would have been nice to enjoy the outdoor patio, too. I imagine this is a fantastic place in Santa Barbara during the warm weather of spring and summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hutchss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love the location and outdoor seating.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great spot for people watching on State Street. During Fiesta this year we managed to grab a spot on the patio and enjoyed hours of endless entertainment.

I had the eggplant parma and it was fantastic. I have only ordered this a few other times, but this was my ab fav. The menu is HUGE and the service was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jared-Malia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Customer UNFRIENDLY”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a dinner reservation on December 25, 2012 - Xmas evening at 6:30 PM. We were seated after 20 minutes. It took three requests to get a basket of cold bread (not anything special!) and a cup of olives. One of the dishes we ordered was lasagne which had a drizzle of sauce and we had to ask for more sauce as the "inside" of the lasagne was very dry. The other dish we ordered was a farfalle with chicken and pink sauce. Since one of us is a vegetarian, we asked for vegetables to be substituted for the chicken. We were refused this request. The waiter said that the chef will not make any substitutions. We then asked for just farfalle with pink sauce and veggies on the SIDE - again, we were refused. The farfalle with pink sauce (no veggies!) arrived and so did the check for the FULL amount of the dish including the chicken at $16.50. We asked that the bill be adjusted because there was no chicken in the dish. We were told by the waiter that the owner/chef would not allow that - the full amount had to be paid! We asked to speak to the owner. He came over with "attitude" and said to us "so you are the one with the chicken?" (Well we were really the ones WITHOUT the chicken!) We told him we were not happy customers. He did us a "big" favor and took off $2.00 from the total of the check. We will never go back there again. This is the second time we have been there and have had a problem. There will not be a third. Go to "Louie's" in the Upham Hotel or "Opal" on State Street. Both are very customer friendly and will accommodate you as you wish! We are spreading the word. Bucatini is OFF OUR LIST AND SHOULD BE OFF YOURS AS WELL!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelalot32136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucatini also viewed

 

Been to Bucatini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing