We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Hard to get a reservation”
Review of The Lark

The Lark
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lark is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.
Description: The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Hard to get a reservation”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is the hottest restaurant in Santa Barbara. We tried for a same day reservation online on a saturday but they were booked till Tuesday. I called and they said they had first come first serve on a large community table. We went at five and got a table for four outside. Lucked out because the food was excellent from start to finish. I especially liked the tomato and cheese salad and roasted chicken. The fish was good but the chicken was way better. Should have ordered a whole chicken. Portion are not huge so get the whole chicken. Our server was also excellent. Patient and knowledgable. The meals are pricy but worth it. It's a place to see and be seen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    174
    64
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been to The Lark twice now, and am looking forward to my next visit already! The food is creative and exciting, the ambiance unique and refreshing, the staff is friendly and knowledgable. I couldn't stop looking at all the details that have gone into this venture. You have to see it! Not only was it a culinary delight the other guests were all so much fun to watch. Seeing people gather and enjoy themselves was wonderful. Smiles and laughter all around. It is a true jewel and I felt honored to be a part of its opening weeks. Do yourself a favor and go enjoy The Lark!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Casual sophistication”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at The Lark on Sunday and I must report that it was the best meal we've ever eaten in Santa Barbara. The whole roasted branzino and slow-cooked pork shank were both to die for - perfectly prepared and seasoned. The atmosphere at The Lark is loads of fun - repurposed items throughout and some of the most beautiful lighting you've ever seen. The patio is warm and inviting with firepits to cozy up to and even a blanket to keep the chill off. Best part of all was the milk chocolate pot de creme at the end. We will definitely be back to The Lark soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice addition to Santa Barbara”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was really looking forward to a much needed fresh, modern, decent food and choice kind of place in Santa Barbara. It is a beautiful location, and they have done a terrific job on the property. The food was well prepared, very prompt service, but with too much of a smile, so over the top, candy coated, to the point of "give me a break" quick to move you onto the next purchase, do you want another cocktail, another glass of wine, I think that most adults know when they want something else.
I know this town is starving for a decent place to go for up to date food and wine, but this place jams it down your throat with very new and young servers, without much experience.
Apart from the way too expensive price tag, it was good for a once in a while stop off.
They have a lot of learn about relaxing, and having great food for a believable price and attitude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lark also viewed

 

Been to The Lark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing