We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall nice experience”

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara
Reserve with OpenTable
Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Amtrak
Description: Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake. Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“overall nice experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

the restaurant is loud without a doubt, but or waiter with his excellent service made up for it. it also helped that the food was prepared perfectly, just as we ordered. we would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi, Jim! Thanks for taking the time to share your post. We definitely get pretty lively and loud during peak times -- that keeps things interesting, right? It's great to hear that the rest of your meal was excellent. We'll see you again soon!

Best,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    369
    123
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We are biased in that having eaten in the Santa Monica restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the meal we booked into Santa Barbara restaurant and were not disappointed.
The food was excellent ,service fine and atmosphere excellent
If you are in Santa Monica or Santa Barbara and enjoy fish these restaurants will not disappoint

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patandjimEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I'm so glad you ventured to our other location! It sounds like we were held to some high standards, and it's great to hear you were impressed. We hope to see you in the next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Cheers,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dining in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

With the exception of the noise at this restaurant, I loved it. The wait staff was friendly and considerate. The food was delicious, the drinks were good. This is a great place to celebrate but don't come for a romantic evening. Too loud and intrusive for romance but great for a friendly crowd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhodabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Great food and a fun time? Sounds like a successful night out! Thanks for taking the time to share such great feedback. We love our upbeat vibe, but I'm sorry you didn't think it was the ideal romantic setting. Don't hesitate to request a quieter area of the restaurant -- if there's a free table, we're more than happy to accommodate! We'll see you next time.

Take care,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Visitor's Center recommended this restaurant (with a coupon for a free appetizer) as an affordable option for a family of four.The atmosphere was fantastic. They sat us near the fish tank which my kids ( 6 & 8 ) loved. Their kids meals came in a little cardstock ship, which was very cute. If only I could go back in time and order something different this might have been an excellent rating. My husband & I split a seafood sampler platter (around $25... not as affordable as the visitor's center made it sound) and each had our own clam chowder to go with it. The clam chowder was just alright -- not bad, but nothing to brag about. The seafood platter was weird. The calamari was still connected to the squid's body and fried which freaked me out. The service was great -- friendly and quick.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that the platter wasn't what you were expecting, Cheryl. If a dish doesn't hit the spot, don't hesitate to let us know -- we'd be happy to get your something more to your liking. That said, we'd love to welcome you back in to check out more of our menu. We have a killer happy hour, which includes some great appetizer specials! We hope to see you the next time you're in Santa Barbara.

Take care,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Fish choice”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited the Enterprise Fish Co for Lunch on the last day of our holiday in California, before flying back to the UK. We had been disappointed up to this point that we hadn't really had any good fish or seafood in California, I'm pleased to advise that we finally got what we were looking for at the Enterprise Fish Co.
We both had the Fish and Seafood on a skewer and it was amazing, perfectly cooked, with a good selection of side dishes. There was a good selection of wine etc, at reasonable prices. The service was also good.
It's great to also see your food being prepared and cooked, the kitchen is situated in the middle of the restaurant.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
What a lovely review, Natasha -- thank you for sharing your kind words! It sounds like your seafood dishes really hit the spot, which is great. You can't beat a fun meal after a day around Santa Barbara.

I hope you had a blast visiting the states! We'll see you next time you're in the area.

Take care,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing