We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, okay service but VERY crowded and noisy.”

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara
Reserve with OpenTable
Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Amtrak
Description: Just a few blocks from the waterfront, our restaurant in Santa Barbara operates in a century-old brick building originally home to an industrial linen service for seaside hotels. While the Douglas fir floors, soaring ceilings, and glassed cupola have always been features of this historic structure, the sweeping arches facing State Street were added after much of the building crumbled during the 1925 Santa Barbara earthquake. Built in 1917, the historic building now home to our Santa Monica restaurant was once a transfer station for the narrow-gauge Red Car line, Los Angeles' first mass transit system. It was later the repair house for the world-famous Pacific Ocean Park, home to the oldest wooden roller coaster west of the Mississippi. These days, we're still a stone's throw from Venice Beach, heart of where L.A. goes to play -- and eat.
California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, okay service but VERY crowded and noisy.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed great appetizers, good entrees and okay service at this restaurant. Our ONLY negative is that it is EXTREMELY noisy and crowded. Your chair gets bumped into a lot, so with that and the extreme noise, you will probably be in a hurry to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I'm sorry that our noise level took away from your meal, Victoria. We certainly want you to enjoy your dinner and take your time here. Even though the restaurant is very high energy and open, there are quieter areas available. Please feel free to let us know next time, and we'd be happy to accommodate you when they're free. Since you liked your dishes, I'd love to welcome you back in soon to give us another try. I'm sure we could knock it out of the park next time!

Best,
Maia S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    386
    130
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Predictably good”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

You can't go wrong going here. The fish is grilled in the middle of the restaurant behind a glass partition.. Seating next to the big aquarium is fun. The potato Romano are to die for. The bread is fresh, served warm, just don't fill up on it because it taste so good. The fish can we seved any style you decide to have it. Always delicious! Cesar salad is a nice addition, chowder is good, the crab cakes are delicious. You can always count on a good meal there. The price is reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romaniangirlamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for leaving your recommendation! It sounds like you've sampled a nice variety of our seafood dishes, which is wonderful. We know it's hard to fight the urge to eat all of that yummy bread — especially when you order the Lobster Bisque to dip it in, right? That's where our to-go boxes come in handy!

Thanks again for your review. I hope to welcome you back in soon for more of your favorites!

Best,
Maia S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lobster at an affordable price (Mon-Thu. anyway)”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a 5 night stay in Santa Barbara and spent 3 of our nights in here. One night just drinks (great Happy Hour/s), the next drinks & bar food happy hour specials & finally was hungry enough the one evening for the lobster special ($32.95 for 2lb lobster), my husband had the Dover Sole - we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals plus the drinks & happy hour specials.

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff were very pleasant and if we are ever in SB again we will certainly be visiting the Enterprise once more (probably more than once........).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for making us a part of our trip to Santa Barbara! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed our happy hour and lobster special. It sounds like our team took great care of you as well, which is wonderful. The next time you find yourself in our area, we'd love to have you in!

Take care,
Maia S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seafood Restaurant with a "Locals" Feel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was the 2nd time we had dined at Enterprise. The last visit was a couple of years ago when traveling to Santa Barbara. This was as good as the last. Funky fisherman's decor, fair prices, good quality seafood and selection of items ranging from Seared Ahi burger to Lobster. Service was friendly, attentive and mistake-free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi, Tom! I'm so glad you made us part of your visit to Santa Barbara. It sounds like our team took great care of you, which is what I love to hear. We hope to see you again soon for more your seafood favorites!

Best,
Maia H.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The food was so good and so fresh went there a second time. The service was excellent. Well worth a visit at this seafood restaurant. The Tuna Tartare was to die for!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baxfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliana B, Manager at Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. The Tuna Tartare is a house favorite, so good choice! Thanks for making us a part of your visit to Santa Barbara. We'd love to welcome you in the next time you're in town from Sydney!

Take care,
Maia S.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing