We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a girls night out”

Opal Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A popular local’s favorite, opal restaurant and bar infuses an Eclectic California Cuisine with creative influences from around the World. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients to create dishes inspired by the colorful multi-cultural heritage of America, often with an Asian flair. Items on our menu range from a 14 oz. Herb-Grilled Ribeye Steak on Tuscan Style White Beans, to Fresh Grilled Fish and Seafood, Homemade Pastas and Gourmet Pizzas from our wood burning pizza oven, fresh baked Breads, deliciously imaginative Salads and Homemade Desserts.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for a girls night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

There were 9 of us that went here for dinner and it was a great place to go with a large group. The service was excellent as was the food. Our appetizers were Shredded Phyllo Wrapped Tiger Prawns (delicious!!) and Fresh Ahi Tartare, Avocado Salsa and Tomato Napoleon with Homemade Taro Chips (good but not as tasty as the prawns). I had the lamb chops as my entrée which were amazing.
This is a great place to go with large parties but I would love to come back here and try out some more of their food as they have a great selection.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank annathorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    219
    60
    24
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Dinner on 8/18. Located on State street. Many restaurants in the area. This one of the best. Varied menu. We had the cod, and the lamb chops. Both were excellent. Shrimp appetizer very good. Extensive wine menu and drinks of all kinds. Superb service by KIA. Very enjoyable dinner.
Make reservations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Asked for More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A restaurant experience not to be missed in Santa Barbara. Went there with family, had a late reservation, but we were getting hungry and decided to see if we could sneak in early. My wife had told me earlier this was an experience not to be missed, and of course she was right. No sweat getting a seat. Imagine a classic New York old school American bar and grill restaurant plunked down among the palms and Mediterranean climate and cool of Santa Barbara. Busy, loud, fast, famous and nearly famous in the crowd, superb attentive service and equally as excellent food and drink. Well done, Opal, keep up the good work, and thanks for a memorable dinner!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went to Opal for our last evening in Santa Barbara and were not disappointed! The service and food were excellent! Everything was perfection. The only negative was that we requested a reservation for 7:00 pm and was told that we could be accommodated at either 6 or 8pm. We took the 6pm slot and then wondered why there were still so many open tables at 7:30 when we left??? All in all though, highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barnsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We ate here as a group and the service and food was great. The menu is diverse and the cocktail menu was unique. If I was back in the area I would certainly eat here again. The chicken pesto pasta was scrummy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Opal Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing