We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and service”

Opal Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A popular local’s favorite, opal restaurant and bar infuses an Eclectic California Cuisine with creative influences from around the World. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients to create dishes inspired by the colorful multi-cultural heritage of America, often with an Asian flair. Items on our menu range from a 14 oz. Herb-Grilled Ribeye Steak on Tuscan Style White Beans, to Fresh Grilled Fish and Seafood, Homemade Pastas and Gourmet Pizzas from our wood burning pizza oven, fresh baked Breads, deliciously imaginative Salads and Homemade Desserts.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The menu was varied and interesting, the food was very good, as was the service, and in general I enjoyed myself greatly. DO make a reservation, though--this place is very popular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    219
    60
    24
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Tried the Opal on Christmas Eve. Had never been here despite living in Santa Barbara for more than ten years. Single best aspect for me was the herb grilled filet mignon - it was very good, one of the best I've had, came with mashed potatoes and grilled veggies. Chased it down with a couple of good glasses of California pinot. Presentation was good. We had the peppered ahi appetizer - the family didn't think it was very good but I liked it - very peppery. It is noisy inside, we found ourselves shouting. Fairly pricey, but that's what I expected for a good restaurant on State Street. Extensive wine list, we all found something we liked. They demanded a credit card with the reservation, told us two hours max at the table, and when we were done we were pressured to leave. Took quite a while for the entrees to arrive after ordering, but they were very busy. My sweetie liked the vibe, sort of like the Chase but not as cozy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Average food only, very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have not eaten here before and had high expectations. Unfortunately this restaurant failed. The service is slow, and I was not impressed with the food. I had the pork loin which was dry and uninteresting. The cost was high ($37).

It is also one of the noisiest restaurants that I have ever eaten in. I will not be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food is always great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Opal is one of those restaurants you keep returning to because you know you'll have great food and service every time. The only thing that tempers more frequent return visits is their reservation process, and their judgement of finding a table for you should you have the temerity to just stop in. This can be hit or miss and is the only flaw in dining there. I guess it all hinges on the phases of the Moon or how many walk ins they anticipate from The Granada.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a gourmet treat! Everything we ate here was beautifully prepared and we would definitely return if we had the time! A memorable eating experience. The staff were friendly and attentive even on a busy night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chouettecolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Opal Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing