We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solidly delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opal Restaurant and Bar

Opal Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A popular local’s favorite, opal restaurant and bar infuses an Eclectic California Cuisine with creative influences from around the World. Our chefs use the freshest of ingredients to create dishes inspired by the colorful multi-cultural heritage of America, often with an Asian flair. Items on our menu range from a 14 oz. Herb-Grilled Ribeye Steak on Tuscan Style White Beans, to Fresh Grilled Fish and Seafood, Homemade Pastas and Gourmet Pizzas from our wood burning pizza oven, fresh baked Breads, deliciously imaginative Salads and Homemade Desserts.
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Solidly delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We are here last night, and while nothing was mind-bogglingly delicious, every single thing from my Pimm's Cup, to my husband's bouillabaisse, to his rich duck pizza (a special), to my chile rubbed steak was yummy. Full of flavor, well seasoned, and good sized portions. Vanilla bean creme brûlée was a delight. We just had a disastrous meal at Julienne, and actually got a pizza to go from Opal. Would certainly recommend and would gladly go back. Very satisfying meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paigehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    213
    60
    24
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mothers day dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

menu offered many tantilizing choices - finally choose a macadamia (i think) nut crusted sea bass with mango salsa - was sooo incredible that i ate too much. staff was friendly but also efficiant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occoquan, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our best dining experience while we were in Santa Barbara. The food was terrific and the service was great. One of the best for sure. The reviews don't lie.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rbertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lunch - lack of service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Three of us ate lunch on Wednesday, April 3, to celebrate a business partner's birthday and were disappointed in the lack of service from our waiter whose name tag said his name was Ocean. My husband had to ask for everything twice. We arrived at 11:45 am, and it seemed that our waiter was more interested in chatting with the bar tender throughout lunch. One member of our party ordered a Blood Mary which didn't come with any celery so we asked for olives - yes, we asked twice. It got to be funny after a while. Other times we have eaten at Opal have been really good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank goodboyboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it - Italian with a California twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious dinner at the bar on Saturday night. The place was packed, but we were accommodated at the bar. We had a fantastic meal (Chicken with penne in a Chipotle cream sauce and some sort of pork in a adobo sauce). The bartender and wait person were both excellent, and we enjoyed the company of a nice local couple seated next to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vtskichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Opal Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing