We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place for Locals & Tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Cafe

Paradise Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Paradise Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in a 1915 vintage brick and stucco building that once housed an Italian bakery, and La Paloma Cafe, this landmark building has been the home of Paradise Cafe since 1981. Customers can enjoy Paradise Cafe on the heated patio, in the dining room, or the art deco-inspired bar. The Paradise Cafe has the first and only grill to use Santa Maria live oak wood in the city of Santa Barbara. We specialize in prime steaks, fresh fish, and of course, our famous Paradise Burger broiled over the first and only live oak wood grill in Santa Barbara. Combine that with our fabulous vegetarian entrees, pastas, soups, salads, and our Decadent Paradise Pie, and we have something for every palate!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Place for Locals & Tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were having lunch at "ON the ALLEY" and met a great couple who live in Santa Barbara. We asked for recommedations and they said Paradise Cafe is the place that locals prefer. We went for dinner, sat outside and found most people were locals and the owner and his wife were going table to table visiting. We liked the relaxed environment and good service. They do have a happy hour (wine & beer). We enjoyed a fried calamari appetizer, steak salad and Sea Bass. There was more food than we could eat. There is also a nice bar inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    63
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved this eclectic restaurant. The outdoor seating on tiered levels was fun and relaxing. The food was excellent. We enjoyed dinner so much we returned the next day for lunch. While they did not have the salad I was hoping for on the menu, the waiter gladly substituted my choices. One of my favorite memories of our time in Santa Barbara will be Paradise Cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawnfeb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great service and decent food. Outdoor seating was fun. While nothing to write home about, the food was above average. Would go back there without reservation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongoose84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and great patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had the steak tacos and fried calamari. Both were excellent. We look forward to coming back. I really that that trip advisor makes you type more than you want to type. Irritating! I'll just type this everyone and you should too. Cheers Trip Advisor. From a person who is in the top 10 percent of reviewers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FLorida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

While visiting our daughter in Santa Barbara in July, she took us to the Paradise Cafe for lunch. We sat outdoors on the patio on a beautiful sunny afternoon. I'm a vegetarian, so I ordered the veggie burger with the works including chili peppers. It was the best veggie burger I've ever eaten. My husband ordered fish which was perfection. The wine was first class. This restaurant has been in Santa Barbara for many years. It has a long standing reputation as a Santa Barbara favorite. We left the area for several weeks, and when we returned for another visit in August, I suggested we once again eat at The Paradise Care...I could not resist having another veggie burger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingforfun38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Paradise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing