We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative eats with nice presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finch and Fork

Finch and Fork
Reserve with OpenTable
Finch and Fork is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chapala
Transit: Main Station
Description: Finch & Fork is a Modern American Restaurant and Bar centrally located on the corner of Carrillo and Chapala streets in the heart of Santa Barbara's vibrant downtown. Chef James Siao draws inspiration from the vibrant local ingredients sourced from farmers and ranchers to craft an ingredient driven menu of delectable social plates and soul satisfying larger plates. His Cuisine is meant to be served with artisanal wines, craft cocktails, and great beers in the relaxed atmosphere of our bar, lounge, and dining room.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Creative eats with nice presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Came here one night with a gaggle of gals and were treated quite well by our cheeky waiter. Seems funny but the locally sourced mozzarella dish was to die for. I would easily eat here again if I make it out to Santa Barbara once more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRCHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan C, General Manager at Finch and Fork, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for the remarkable praise! We look forward to your next visit to SB and hope that our service can be as cheeky as you initially experienced! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    126
    34
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Kimpton Canary for a couple of days, and ended up eating 2 dinners and a breakfast at Finch and Fork.
EVERY menu item we had was awesome ! The blistered shishito pepper snack was particularly amazing, but really everything was great !
As there is a wine tasting in the hotel each evening, we did not sample any drinks from the bar, however the "milkshake" desert was also outstanding.
It wasn't inexpensive, but worth it for the quality.
Has a casual atmosphere with comfortable leather bankettes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan C, General Manager at Finch and Fork, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you Ally Dee, your comments are greatly appreciated! We strive to outdo ourselves with our libations. We really look forward to seeing you again soon! We love your detailed review! Wish you well and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flaming Cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfect place to park yourself for a cocktail and light bite, although you can order off the full menu. They make the best Old Fashion I've ever had and use square ice cubes that take up just enough room in the glass to make sure your drink stays cold, but not diluted. The Honeycreeper comes flaming to your table and is summer in a glass! Try the beef jerky that has been reconstituted in soy sauce which makes it soft and chewable. Hushpuppies are made with cheddar cheese and come with a slightly spicy dipping sauce. Worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyDee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan C, General Manager at Finch and Fork, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hey AllyDee, Thank you for the raving review. We try to make each every drink as special as possible. We love it when people understand what and how libations are composed! Please come back soon to try out more of the cocktail menu! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I can't praise the restaurant staff enough. They are among the most friendly and helpful I've ever known in any restaurant. The food is great too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan C, General Manager at Finch and Fork, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you Jack! We understand the restaurant business, food and service go hand in hand. Thank you for eating here twice!! Thats pretty awesome! We look forward to having you back again soon! We wish you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklland ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced for quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am on a diet so my selections on the menu are limited and I'm hungry. I order the ribeye steak, around $30.00. That's fine because I'm selecting an upscale ,convient restaurant. I was staying at the canary. My husband ordered the lamb burger.
The steak was not prime quality in fact, it was just not very good. But the lamb burger was really good. So just stick to mid priced food and it's a a lovely place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank djgreenwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan C, General Manager at Finch and Fork, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hey there, thank you for the kind feedback. We absolutely value your feedback and use it constructively. Our lamb burger is definitely deliscious. As for the ribeye, we apologize it wasnt to your liking. I would love to have you come back here to try out more items on the menu. So please dont hesitate to reach out and confirm your next reservation. Thank you again for the review, its with your awareness that we are able to attract more diners! We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finch and Fork also viewed

 

Been to Finch and Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing