We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, fresh Italian ”

Toma Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great, fresh Italian ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Dad and I were after a final fresh meal on our trip. Our hotel recommended this restaurant, just two blocks away. It was a busy Friday night but the staff managed to squeeze us onto the bar.

The staff were very friendly and served with a smile. The food they delivered was delicious! Some great pasta dishes, washed down with great wine. Do go!

Helpful?
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    250
    77
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived earlier than our reservation and the host was gracious enough to get out table ready nonetheless. The ambience was warm and romantic with candles lit at every table. Started with the Ahi Tuna Cone, and it was heaven in my mouth. Perfect balance of the softness from the tuna and the crunch with the sesame. The black spag was also delicious. Ahhh, the dessert... I don't think I've ever given a bad review to sweets and I'm not starting now. I had the Chocolate Torte. It was topped with plain vanilla ice cream that gave the richness of the chocolate a perfect balance creating a beautiful melody in my mouth.

The beach is right across from the restaurant. A romantic walk by the beach after dinner would be a lovely way to end the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deelynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“One of Santa Barbara's very best!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This new restaurant is outstanding. Owners Victoria and Tom are so gracious. You can tell they have decades of restaurant experience and take good care of their guests. Amazing presentation, especially the appetizer salads and miniature ahi cones. We dined on a Friday evening and the place was alive with excitement. The food and service were exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian with California Twist”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We recommend the fried calamari, Tuna cones are melt-in-your-mouth, baked romaine salad, beet salad, black pasta with clams and the tiramasu for dessert.
Good wine list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb dining in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A friend and I dined at Toma on a Wednesday night. The food, atmosphere and service were outstanding. The only reason for the 4 star rating was the ill mannered hostess, a thin blond woman with an off-putting attitude. She was unfriendly and didn't smile - a contrast to the otherwise warm, welcoming, and knowledgeable staff.

Jay was our waiter, and Colin helped us with our reservation. Both were exceptional, as was the kind woman who prepared and served us the delicious tuna appetizer. Even the bus boy looked us in the eye and smiled as he served us.

We had the black spaghetti and rigatoni. Both were delicious and plentiful. Butter was used generously in the spaghetti, but I loved it. The bread was good and the amuse bouche was deep fried stuffed olives with cheese. I don't generally eat fried food, but I devoured all of the tasty olives.

The wine list was excellent. We didn't try the desserts, but my husband and I and another couple will be returning to Toma next week. We loved Toma!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing