We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be Missed”

Toma Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 532 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hercules
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Santa Barbara from the San Francisco Bay Area. One morning I strolled past this little place, sort of tucked in between two hotels, and filed it away in the back of my mind. On our last night in Santa Barbara, we decided to try it for dinner. It was outstanding. The short rib dish is wonderful. Recommendations from the staff for wine and dessert wine were very good. The only disappointment was that the first bottle of wine we ordered from the wine selection was not available. The management should monitor their wine selections more carefully. (This has been a problem we've encountered in several restaurants.) The place was packed on a Thursday night so, obviously, it has quite a reputation. Try it; you'll like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    260
    81
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great addition to town”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently dined at Toma and everything was delicious. I had really fine gnocci with rock shrimp and a light pomodoro sauce. Our friends liked their pizzas. We all shared a dessert and licked our forks. We will go back soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding flavors and service....”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on a recommendation by our B&B host... And we are glad we took her up on it... We had a fantastic dinner, the best of our pacific highway trip for sure and maybe one of the best period! I had an arugula salad to start which was dressed perfectly and then the cioppino... My wife had the black spaghetti with clams, calamari, calibrate, garlic and finished with truffle butter... My cioppino was perfectly cooked but I have to say that the black spaghetti dish was even better... So rich and flavorful and the fresh pasta was just a great combination.... A great bottle of red wine and it made for a great dinner.... Well worth the $130.00 tab for two...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iamalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I probably had the best meal I have ever had in the United States at Toma. It was on a par with the best I have experienced in Italy. In addition, the owner and wait staff were exceedingly warm and friendly, and the decor classy and tasteful. I ventured in off the beach and felt woefully underdressed, but by the way I was treated you would think I had been wearing the latest designer duds. Overall a delightful experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meglill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of Cali.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attention to detail, attention to accommodation.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What can we say that hasn't already been said? They just reopened, and they were eager to give us the service we expect from an establishment on the beach in Santa Barbara.
The owner of approached our table and saw that we did not have quite enough room for our meal and our drinks, so he went out of his way to move another table next to ours so that we could have plenty of room.
He stood and talked to us for at least 10 minutes, and was very personable. He made sure that the servers were attentive to every detail, and made our dining experience top notch. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccraiderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing