We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AutoCamp Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AutoCamp Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for the great Opportunity to camp in your Glamping Excursion. We enjoyed the Santa Cruz airstream with the clawfoot bathtub. Loved the experience. We rode the bikes down to the beach & went to brunch on State street. Merci Beaucoup.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was one of the highlight sleeping experiences during our time in California. We can now say that we have slept in a (beautifully renovated) 1959 Airstream Overlander. The space is tight, but that is to be expected. I am not certain if anyone tall or with girth would move around easily within the space, but it worked for us fine. It also took some getting used to when someone would move around as the floors would shift a bit.

The bed was super comfortable. A cozy little sleep. The shower did not pass Mr.'s test, but we weren't looking for a great shower. The bikes worked well - and made downtown very accessible, even with the hills.

The Internet was a bit wonky. Not certain if a technician came in while we were downtown, but a reboot on the signal extender (located in the closet of the San Miguel - not certain about other units) fixed the situation.

Of note: the units are identified by number, not name, so we had no idea what unit was ours. San Miguel was unit #2 - this was not clear to us from the documents we had received via email from the office. That would be helpful to include when you receive your password. That said, we got to meet our neighbours when they helped us determine which of units was ours.

A shout out to Hillary who was VERY helpful when we left something behind. She was calm and pleasant when it was needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Mitchasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in the San Miguel. Our Airstream was really nicely done. They provided everything you could think of - Pots, pans, microwave, dishbrush, lawn chairs, extra bedding. The place was clean. The San Miguel is not the largest trailer. It's good for 2 people max. The bathroom is tight, but what you'd expect for being in an RV. We actually booked the San Clemente, which is larger. But then got a call that it was not available. That was a bit frustrating because we're tall people and really wanted the extra space. The staff was not apologetic, just matter of fact: You booked it, but it's not available.

We enjoyed just sitting outside and reading or relaxing, drinking some wine. There are quite a few things within walking distance. The bakery across the street is AMAZING (Our Daily Bread). There were plenty of places to get pizza and pasta. Trader Joe's is walkable too.

Here's what you should know:
1. Yes, the code to get in is kind of confusing. Much easier if you're dealing with it in the day time.
2. There's no one on duty i.e. no front desk. But, you really don't need one.
3. The park is actually the front of a residential mobile home park. It's a nice, quiet park. It's just not what we were expecting.
4. You have great views of the mountains and it's in a cool neighborhood.
5. On the weekends, the bar next door is pretty noisy. And the street traffic can also be a bit noisy.
6. Bed was very comfy.
7. DirecTV!

Overall, this was a cute place. How often do you get to stay in an Airstream? Everything is nicely done and modernized. For us, though, it was a one time experience because of the location and heck, we're just too tall :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsunami208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillaryAutoCamp, Guest Relations Manager at AutoCamp Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay with Santa Barbara Auto Camp! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!

We appreciate your feedback. Here at Santa Barbara Auto Camp, guest suggestions are our primary source for improvement.

First and foremost, we would like to formally apologize for the inconvenience caused by our over-booking during your stay. Our system has improved and this kind of mistake will not happen again. Our very sincerest apologies.

We are so happy that this mishaps did not hinder your entire experience. If you would be interested in coming back and staying in our larger San Clemente suite, we would be happy to help you find a date that will fit your needs. Should you choose to re-book, a bottle of wine and a freshly baked good from Daily Bread will be awaiting your arrival as an apology for your trouble.

Let me know if we can be of any further assistance!

Best,

Hillary Scott
Santa Barbara Auto Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were intrigued by the Sunset
Magazine article & positive reviews here. Entire experience did not live up to expectations. We appreciate what the owners are trying to accomplish & you can tell a lot of care went into the refurbishment of the Airstreams. But reservations were challenging & I made repeated calls to confirm after the initial online form was submitted. I never did receive an email confirmation. When checking in, no one was on site so if the housekeeper hadn't been there, we wouldn't have had any way to get into the trailer or know which one we'd reserved (we reserved trailer by name but trailers had no names, only numbers). We helped other guests check in (one group hadn't received any email either so we gave them the phone number to call someone & the other man had a key code but no key pad on his trailer.) Our trailer's exterior lights did not work. The bicycles, well one worked OK, the other the chain kept coming off. We switched with another trailer's bikes & found a 2nd one that only had a handle bar problem so while they would have been useful & fun had they been better quality & better maintained, they weren't. Nice compact kitchen including sink with filtered water for drinking & dish soap dispenser but no dish cloth or towel provided. The whole trailer tilted slightly to one side, something we didnt realize until we went to bed & found our heads going downhill (putting a small ball in the center of the wood floors confirmed that it immediately rolled to one side). Appreciated the guidebook with historic info about the trailer park. So, there was good & bad. If staff had been on site, some things could have been corrected or reported. It was an adventure of sorts & while it was great to see all the detail in the design of the trailer & learn about the vision of the owners, more could be done to insure a satisfactory guest experience from reservation through check out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat_ontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Owner at AutoCamp Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Kat_ontherun,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are committed to constantly improving the Auto Camp, and we greatly value your input.

We're happy that you chose to stay with us after reading about us in Sunset Magazine, but we genuinely regret that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

It is unacceptable that your confirmation email was not sent in a timely manner. To prevent this from happening for future guests, we have implemented a new reservation system and brought on new telephone personnel to assure prompt correspondence and delivery of confirmation emails.

As well, we also now reference the space number and Airstream name together in confirmation emails to avoid confusion. We have also fixed exterior lighting and have re-leveled all trailers.

We're passionate about bringing guests the best experience possible and we would like to offer you a complimentary one-night stay so that you can come back and see how everything has improved. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Very truly yours,

Ryan Miler - Vice President, Prospect Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I dad a fabulous stay at the Auto Camp last weekend with my boyfriend. We stayed in Santa Cruz airstream and loved it! Obviously was a lot of attention to detail in designing these trailers! Such a unique and fun experience if you're looking for something outside of the box, not your average hotel stay! Loved the mason jars for glasses, so cute. We spent the evening hanging out on the front patio and enjoyed the gorgeous view of the mountains behind Santa Barbara. If you're looking for a good dinner spot, would recommend checking out TAP Thai. We will definitely be back next time we visit Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: Santa Cruz is right under the gorgeous oak tree, awesome spot to hang out outside and is not right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our one night stay here was excellent and we're looking forward to staying here again in the future. It's a great location on upper State and there are a lot of cool restaurants nearby (a few good bars too!). We loved the Airstreams and they're so much more fun to stay in than a hotel.They were rather comfortable, had awesome furnishings, and were overall very pleasant. The two beach cruisers they provided were a nice addition to the overall package. The camp's atmosphere was wonderful too, groovy and relaxing. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed in the one on with the clawfoot tub... (can't recall the name of the unit, sorry!). Great idea, well executed, and more comfy than I expected -- I'm 6'2" and generally prefer BIG spaces, but it was bright and not claustrophobic at all. My favorite parts: Free bikes to use; very cool bath products (I'm a big Malin & Goetz fan); and a cool dive bar within stumbling distance. Only problem I had was that it took me awhile to figure out how to turn on the heat (hint: it's on the wall by the heater in each room, not on the main thermostat, which apparently just controls AC). In short, it was a memorable, comfortable experience and I will for sure be back next time we're in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Get the one with the clawfoot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AutoCamp Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AutoCamp Santa Barbara

Property: AutoCamp Santa Barbara
Address: 2717 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AutoCamp Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AutoCamp is a new type of outdoor lodging experience that's unlike any other. Featuring modern and luxurious Airstream accommodations at our unique properties in California, AutoCamp is inspired by the wanderlust of camping and the great American road trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AutoCamp Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing