We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a view”
Review of Sambo's Restaurant

Sambo's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 548 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Sambos is a family friendly restaurant located across from the beach in Santa Barbara. We serve Breakfast and Lunch all day long. Our specialty is Pancakes and breakfast items.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the original Sambo's opened in 1957 across the street from the marina and beach. This is a casual, comfortable, retro restaurant which closes at 2:30 every day so go for breakfast or lunch. Sit outside for the sun and view or inside in comfortable booths. Food is good as is the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your post. We have extended our hours and now stay open till 3:00pm. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 661 of 892 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We rented bicycles and we were around Santa Monica beaches all day.aAt 2,30 we stopped in this nice restaurant facing the sea just across the road. It has outside tables and a menu especially for breakfast ( pancake, french toast eggs etc.) we had some tacos with fried halibut . It was tasty and pleasant. Scones with chocolate are served as bread. Very ,very nice!

Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your post, we strive to do better than 3 stars. Have a good vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Eggs Benedict were ok. Wife said her French toast was good. Let's face it, breakfast restaurants are few near the water and Sambo's is one of the few around. You will have a decent meal.

Thank Konrad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your post. We strive for better than "Just OK", but I guess we need to try harder. We hope that you will visit us again.
Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

service was great, courtesy coffee outside while you wait. busy weekend but waited a total of like 10mins! great food, great service!

Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you, we always want to make sure our guests have a good experience.
Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

O.K., it's Sambo's but it's Sambo's Santa Barbara beach style. Great for breakfast or late night and you can walk across the street to the park and beach. How can you go wrong at Sambo's along the Beach?

Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your post we strive to do the best we can.
Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sambo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing