We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast is Awsome especially the chocolate chip muffins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sambo's Restaurant

Sambo's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sambos is a family friendly restaurant located across from the beach in Santa Barbara. We serve Breakfast and Lunch all day long. Our specialty is Pancakes and breakfast items.
2 reviews
“Breakfast is Awsome especially the chocolate chip muffins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Sambos is a great spot for breakfast by the ocean in downtown Santa Barbara. Close to hotels and downtown. I am a local and this is one of my favorite places to have breakfast. Try it out for yourself you will live it

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and staff. Any reason why only 3 stars?
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    319
    126
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beach view diner across from SB's west beaches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good spot for breakfast when walking the beachfront. Decent sized breakfasts , and omlettes are very tasty! Pleasasnt staff and reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your post.
Chad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Santa Barbara”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

While the food was good, it seemed overpriced. My son ordered an omelette with ham, cheese, bacon, onions and sour cream and it was $16.00. It is a popular place place so be prepared to wait especially if you have a party of more than 4. I am not sure if they were staffed well enough as our service was slow and not correct. They also made two overcharge mistakes on our order that they had to correct.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Phil,
Thank you for your post. I am sorry that you felt our menu was over priced. The Ham and Cheese omelette is $10.20 and side of sour cream would be extra. The server must have made a mistake in ringing up something. I would be happy to refund any over charges we may have done. I also will talk to the staff about service. Can you let me know where and what time you ate so I can talk to that staff member to see if they need more training. It is our goal to provided the best food and service possible. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was close to my hotel so I went ther for breakfast twice. The first time I took the Santa Barbara ommelett and it tastes absolutely great. (remember that one!). The day after that I ate the Denver ommelett, wich was good as wel, but couldn't reach the Santa Barbara.

The staff is very welcoming and makes you feel very comfy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your post. I had the SB Omelet today also, it was great.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great breakfast stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

If any meal includes hash browns they had better be crispy! These were! The omelet was very good, and the pancakes were yummy. Quick service and good service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elsonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your post. I will let the kitchen know about your review.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Sambo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing