We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast”
Review of Sambo's Restaurant

Sambo's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sambos is a family friendly restaurant located across from the beach in Santa Barbara. We serve Breakfast and Lunch all day long. Our specialty is Pancakes and breakfast items.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Basket of fresh baked muffins placed on the table when we sat down. Good omelettes. Had one with ham, mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese with hollandaise. yum!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richmondpast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind post.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    328
    129
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Worth going for the experience since Sambos has been around forever. Good customer service and good food. Nothing super exciting. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We will try to make it more exciting and fun. Thank you for your post.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“i could be wrong....but i think this is the original sambos.....”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

..........sit on the front patio enjoying the ocean breeze, then walk off the yummy fresh baked bisquits with a walk out on the jetty and watch the fishing boats leave the harbor to go sushi hunting!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ask for Sammy!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Yes it is the first and last Sambos. Thank you for your post, I will let Sammy know about your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tasty lunch.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Me and my husband had a lunch once. Food was fine but staff don't communicate well with each other. They didn't know what what is in the menu, instead glass of white wine I got a glass of champagne, etc. Although they are very friendly and apologetics. Would recommended for the nice sea view. The location of Sambo's suite as a lot because we stayed in the hotel next door.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I will train the staff better.
Chad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniper flats
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Original Sambos location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We try to stop here for breakfast at least once while in SB in August. We managed two stops this trip and were not disappointed. The staff is pleasant and friendly. The menu is varied and reasonably priced. There is inside and outside seating. We love the original motifs that have been left on the walls that remind us of the stories from our childhood. There was a Disney movie playing in the corner which was a bit distracting, but good for kids if you have them. We love this place and we'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank socalranchgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments. I did have the movie on for the kids, if there is no kids let us know and we will change the channel.
Chad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Sambo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing