We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Super Casual Mexican- Very Popular”

La Super-Rica Taqueria
Ranked #34 of 531 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Excellent Super Casual Mexican- Very Popular”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place has a reputation up and down the California coast and almost everyone stops here when in SB. Julia Child mentioned it as one of her favorites and that also brings in the tourists. So this small corner Taqueria is always packed with lines extending out into the street. There is very little parking so I usually on park the street in the neighborhood.
You line up and order through a window ,pay (cash only) and get a number than you stand and wait for an available table- first come first served.
The food is fantastic for what it is. Fresh grilled steak and pork with home made fresh corn tortillas. The stuffed Pasilla with cheese is amazing. This is solid Mexican grill food. Nothing fancy but top quality ingredients cooked to order.
So go with an open mind and enjoy the experience. Wait on line - don't stress and you'll have a good meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    118
    67
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food for the price.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stopped in for a nice lunch. You walk in one side, place your order and then wait for it on the other side. There is tables and chairs, but it gets packed. You better make sure someone is watching your chair while you get up to get your food, because you may come back and it be missing due to the crowd.

As for the food, it was really good and filling. We only ate their once due to the crowd, but I would recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneHappyCouple2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
3,375 reviews
1,407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,914 helpful votes
“Yummy Spanish food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I'm not a big Spanish food fan, but this place was fabulous! It's a tiny, cash-only place, but the food is delicious and the service can't be beat in friendliness and efficiency! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Polarizing”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I liked it. My husband didn't. He found Taco Cabana better. And it all boiled down to what we ordered and what we can eat. #16 is great. He can't have cheese, so it's not as good. I also had a tamale, again something with cheese that he can't eat.

I was fortunate enough to stand in line with a former employee. She recommended that I order #16 and substitute the pork with chorizo. However, beware that the chorizo has nitrates, so I couldn't order it, but it is what she loves the most.

The guacamole is pretty standard, mostly avocado, so it's good. What I love there were the fresh, hot corn tortillas. And the ingredients overall seems very fresh.

Just a note: They use a cheese sauce for the tamale and #16. It's not Velveeta, but it is a sauce rather than melted shredded cheese on top.

We stood in line for about 30 minutes and waited 15 minutes for food. I wouldn't say it was worth it except to have just gone once. I would not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RooibosDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic as it gets!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

True Mexican food. They make the tortillas as you are ordering your food. Not a lot of bling but the food is very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank slganser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Super-Rica Taqueria also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to La Super-Rica Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing