We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Rica? More like Super Bland”

La Super-Rica Taqueria
Ranked #35 of 532 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super Rica? More like Super Bland”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Never have I been to a more over hyped restaurant. I would consider it to be an 'ok' taqueria at best. Super Rica is not even the best Mexican restaurant on Milpas street let alone in town. If you're in the area and truly want an eclectic taste of Mexican food do yourself a favor and go to Los Agaves. It has truly authentic food and is run by an owner who is actually from Mexico. If you are dead set on a Taqueria go to Lilly's Tacos on Chapala, that is what a true taqueria should hope to be.

This place is nothing more than a tourist trap for the uniformed, there are many way better places in town! Don't follow the lemmings!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RAV_IN_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    119
    67
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is the best authentic Mexican food around and we make it a priority every time we go to Santa Barbara to go at least once if not two or three times.....we love it! #15 is our favorite! Well worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittyjane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Long wait but worth it, written up in Gourmet magazine”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Not for special occasions, but great for lunch and dinner. Go when they first open up or expect 30 minute wait. Try the #11 which had marinated pork with melted cheese in between two homemade tortillas, grilled, toasted. The meat is perfectly marinated We also like the #16. Try the avacado dish #18. We are making the long route to LA from SF just to try this place again.
Note: cash only.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always very tasty and reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you like Mexican food, you're in Santa Barbara and don't want to take out a loan for lunch, give it a try. My favorite is #8: grilled chicken with peppers, onions and mushrooms.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CG2G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go if there's no line, but not worth the wait”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

At some point this blew up and became a tourist attraction... they may have rested on their laurels a bit since then. Don't get me wrong - it's still solid, and the price is right. But waiting 30 minutes for fast food you could get at a half dozen other places (and even one or two just on Milpas) doesn't really make sense.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Super-Rica Taqueria also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to La Super-Rica Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing