We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks and breads”
Review of Brophy Bros.

Brophy Bros.
Ranked #10 of 531 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Santa Barbara Harbor. You’ll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at this true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the “small” menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the “long” menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals’ favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steaks and breads”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hi
I visited this restaurant twice and could see by the amount of customers how popular it is. The atmosphere pretty good but food was quite good. The bar is also very popular. In terms of space well they pack the customers in but again, its popular!! Not a bad meal right on the harbour upstairs..........take a jacket incase you dine on the deck (although they have heat lamps too).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceretha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    656
    216
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“MISERABLE seating.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

When we arrived, we were shocked at how jam-packed the restaurant had positioned all of their tables. People were even crammed in next to each other at the bar. YIKES. There was nowhere to sit without being backed into or struck (accidentally) by another patron. You definitely felt the pressure to order as quickly as you could, eat your food, and get OUT because of this misery. It was difficult to get the attention of our server, so we ordered quickly (when we managed to get her to take our order). We ate quickly, as the constant harassment of being knocked into was TRULY unnerving. We were so stunned by all of this, that we joked that perhaps we were subjects in a bizarre psychological experiment. The food was okay, but certainly not worth the misery caused by their overcrowding. It seemed like this was the restaurant's way of getting people in and out quickly, to keep up their $$$$ income.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sea Food with a View”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This may not have been one of my best restaurant meals ever, but the New England Clam Chowder was the best I've ever tasted. The food was uniformly excellent. I had the Crab Cakes, and my companion had the Fried Clams, so we had both kinds of the restaurant's specialties. The service was quick and friendly, we were asked repeatedly if we needed anything, and nobody tried to snatch away anything until we were finished with it (noteworthy in Santa Barbara.) It was excellent value for price paid. The only negative was that the ambient noise in the outside seating area was extremely loud, and, in the dark, the harbor view could not compensate for that negative. All in all, this was a great meal, and I'll be back on a future trip to Santa Barbara.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaylord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, IL
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wharf restaurant with great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went early to Brophy's for lunch since we heard it was very popular and we wanted to eat outside on the deck facing the water. We were not disappointed. Was a little crowded on the outside deck, but well worth it in the nice weather. Our waiter, Shawn, was fantastic, not just in bringing our food, but chit chatting about our trip and the area. The portions are very large. I ordered the tuna salad melt, rice pilaf (very good with wild and other rice, celery and carrots) and cole slaw. My husband ordered a swordfish that he said was excellent! He always ordered clam chowder and said this one was also very good. The inside of the place looks like you just stepped into a seaport TV series. Such atmosphere with everyone hustling around. Great place, great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went there last Friday as we were coming back from the bay area, we got there about 4 and we got a table on the outside looking over to the docks and marina. We order the garlic clams and the fish and chips both were really good and I recommend you don't miss. The service was really friendly by a staff of beautiful ladies, really, they are gorgeous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing