We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting it Done for Years”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brophy Bros.

Brophy Bros.
Ranked #10 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Santa Barbara Harbor. You’ll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at this true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the “small” menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the “long” menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals’ favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Colchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Getting it Done for Years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Brophy's has a great location overlooking the marina. We have been twice now, both times out of season and there is still a line to get in. That tells you something. Yes the tables and chairs are basic and the menu isn't that extensive. But.... You are paying for the view and the ambiance. On that basis it isn't that expensive comparatively. The food is reasonable, good size portions. We had the chowder which was excellent and the Mahi Mahi also nice. Service is friendly and efficient without being over the top. As usual in California the local wine is seriously over priced so Brophy's use Spanish as the house wine which is both cheaper and it is fine. At first I was cynical about their "Green Agenda" but they seem to be serious which is a big plus for me. Santa Barbara is a great place and Brophy's is a part of that experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyfatowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    627
    205
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nothing special - quantity over quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Brophy Bros. was recommended to us by the hotel we were staying at in Santa Barbara. We went at 6 PM on a Friday night, and there was a 45 minute wait. I was hoping that meant that the food was great. However, we waited in the bar downstairs (as there was no room to wait upstairs) and then were finally seated. The sourdough bread they give you to start was the best part of the meal for me. Everything was very "quantity over quality". The mahi-mahi dish I ordered came with a huge starter salad (absolutely drenched in ranch dressing) and also had sides of rice (seriously a mountain of rice), coleslaw, and a very large portion of fish. The fish was ok, but I've seriously had better mango salsa at Outback. The place was absolutely packed, noisy, and the waiters were just running around like crazy. I really wasn't impressed at all, and wouldn't go back if we were in the area. Maybe it would be a better place for someone who wanted a lot of food for the money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Describes our whole eating experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wasn't initially excited about eating here after reading the other reviews on tripadvisor BUT NOW...WOW!!! We ate there tonight and had a great time, great food, great view and great service!!! The Bloody Mary I drank deserves its own review...OMG!!! I had the beer boiled shrimp appetizer that could have been a meal in itself. The texture was perfect and no it doesn't taste like beer, just perfectly cooked shrimp. The shrimp and avocado salad was not only ample for 2 meals, but FRESH was the first word that came to mind. Fresh needs no other explanation. My husband had 1/2 of a Dungeness crab for his appetizer which he rated at 10. He knows his crab. He also had to try the fish and chips which rated a 10 meaning generous with a fresh cod and thin on the beer batter. The French fries were excellent also. The staff instantly made us feel welcome even with a line on a Thursday at 5:00 pm and we enjoyed everyone from the manager to the busboy during our entire dining experience. Our first memorable visit will bring us back. Thanks BB!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenaiSeamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bar good- food only ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

very touristy... food wasn't very good. enjoyed looking at the view but would really recommend eating there- drinks only

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nic e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was better than average, but you really go for the view, and REALLY good service. We had baked clams, a chopped salad with salmon, and mahi mahi: all were fresh and prepared well; we just weren't wowed by any of it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing