We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast on the West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The French Table - CLOSED

The French Table
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I were travelling from Seattle to LA and we had a few pretty good breakfasts on our way in San Francisco and Monterey, CA for example. Then we stopped for a few hours in Santa Barbara and right across the street from the Courthouse was this restaurant. They served crepes and we decided to give it a try and it happened to be the best breakfast of our trip. We ordered Farmers and Normandie Crepes and they were both excellent. We had very little time and informed our server about that. They went out of their way to serve us as promptly as it was possible. We really liked Santa Barbara and if we ever come back we will definitely try other choices in the French Table as they have plenty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great French Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant after visiting the Courthouse, since it was across the street. We just got back from Paris, and were interested in their selections.
We were not disappointed. The staff was attentive and nice. The decor was pleasant with a few flat screens on select areas to watch the football games while dining on a Saturday morning. Also had a small outdoor dining area with umbrellas, but we wanted to stay cool inside.
We had a Healthy Sandwich (with fresh turkey, bacon, avocado, heirloom tomato, and basil sauce toasted with fresh fruit) and an apple crepe (with a homemade whipped cream to die for). Will come back here for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diamonddog_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoy a taste of France just across from Santa Barbara's historic courthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been there several times for happy hour with friends and this was my first brunch. The food was lovely, the bottomless mimosa was delicious, and the porch setting just across from the gorgeous courthouse was an excellent finishing touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A quick pick me up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

after the courthouse...Had iced tea, espresso and a crepe splendide and it was! Wish we could have had a meal here. Would definitely go back for one. We even got to see a wedding on the courthouse grounds from our outdoor seat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Mediocre tourist cuisine with nice view of court house”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our visit started out with a bottle of wine we wanted to order being out of stock.

We tried to enage the waitress in discussion to pick an alternate choice and learned that she only spoke enough English to parrot out a few sentences. It seems she was someone's cousin visiting from France.

The Risotto with seafood was a half pound block of pre-cooked risotto (edges of risotto block were crispy from being reheated in a dish) topped with 2 shrimp and 2 small scallops and then drowned in saffron sauce for $21.00 - very poor value and mediocre at best.

My husband ordered the Boeuf Bourginon, a pool of grey tough meat in a slurry of murky brown unappealing sauce for $17.00. Not a pearl onion or a garnish of parsely included. The vegetables on the side were stone cold so sent them back to be reheated. My husband had serious indigestion after eating the Beast Bourginon stew..

For dessert we ordered the Baked Alaska - we were told it was out of stock/they ran out. The waitress charged us for it anyway when the bill came. We had to ask to have it removed.

Then we decided to try the cheese plate instead. $16.00 for three very small servings of cheese and a few candied nuts. It was the most competently prepared item we ordered, but again was a poor value.

The French waitress kept coming by to snatch our plates. She has not yet learned that a knife and fork crossed, or placed side by side means = finished, ok to ask if I am done with my meal.

We would not recommend this place to anyone and will not return. If you go, stick to drinks at the bar that are hard to mess up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Table also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing