We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great corner deli”

Metropulos Fine Foods Merchant
Ranked #140 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: A Funk Zone pioneer, Metropulos Fine Foods and Sandwicherie is committed to bringing you the deliciousness you seek, in a casual, comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Check out our assortment of cheeses and charcuterie, as well as our wine room and imported grocery items. All our prepared items are made in house by a dedicated team of professionals. Desserts, breakfast, Greek dishes, lasagnas, pot pies, deli salads, (etc) all made in house. From duck confit to super yummy sandwiches, we've got you covered!
Restaurant details
Description: A Funk Zone pioneer, Metropulos Fine Foods and Sandwicherie is committed to bringing you the deliciousness you seek, in a casual, comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Check out our assortment of cheeses and charcuterie, as well as our wine room and imported grocery items. All our prepared items are made in house by a dedicated team of professionals. Desserts, breakfast, Greek dishes, lasagnas, pot pies, deli salads, (etc) all made in house. From duck confit to super yummy sandwiches, we've got you covered!
Whittier, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great corner deli”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fantastic meats and cheeses. This is the place to go if you want to do some snacking while wine tasting in the "Funk Zone". Very friendly staff. Not open on Sunday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommers207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best sandwich EVER”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My friend and I stopped here to share a sandwich and have a beer when we arrived in S.B. in late afternoon. Sitting at a little table on their front steps in the sunshine and eating a carefully made sandwich (it's all in the bread, I think) was a great start to our stay.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Eat, drink, return!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

while on the urban wine trail, we found ourselves in the need of solids. from kalyra, we headed to metropulos on the recommendation of our server. My BF, a Greek through and through, headed to the deli case and brought back dolmas, feta, kalamatas and a roll for an appetizer and a gyro (Friday special) was delivered to us. I went and got a local beer and bottled water from the fridge, the cashier offered me glasses and we enjoyed a picnic style feast that had my BF reminiscing about his yiayia's house and chatting up one of the owners (also Greek) about a picture of her mom and dad on the wall. It was a birthday celebration for me, but judging by his face, I felt like it was a treat for both of us.

We will be back!

one point deducted because it was hard to figure out where to order, where to pay and who to 'tip' for this delicious meal - all which the locals knew and had no effect on how much I love this place now

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oui_lexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot with outdoor seating to basque in the sun.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The sandwiches there are very good, everything looks and tasted very fresh, from their breads, vegetables, and meats. Very gourmet, like a higher end Mendocino Farms deli in LA, but in relaxing SB.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MundoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Deli”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been visiting Santa Barbara for several years and since we discovered this deli, we have become very regular customers. The food is excellent - we particularly love the Cheese and Charcuterie platter and the salads and there is always an interesting and wide selection of pastas, wines and everything else you would expect in a top class food establishment.

The place is always busy as more and more people discover this gem and the service is very good. Particular thanks to Ann and Stephanie for always making us feel so welcome - like part of the family. Parking can be tricky at busy times but don't let this put you off. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropulos Fine Foods Merchant also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Metropulos Fine Foods Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing