We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$319
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Expedia.com
$319
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Official Hotel
$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$319
Hotels.com$319
ZenHotels.com$326
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveler rating
664
272
137
97
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
664
272
137
97
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting valet parking across the street fire pit ocean view valet staff state street perfect location west beach great room continental breakfast beautiful grounds boutique hotel road trip bikes sutton wharf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2019

We had a terrific stay at this boutique hotel on the ocean in Santa Barbara. The location is great, the rates are market for the location, the staff was wonderful, the room was spacious and clean.

We will be back!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

What a gem, although expensive this hotel is worth it.
Fantastic location right opposite the beach with plenty of restaurants around.
Loved the complimentary bikes as this meant we could see Santa Barbara.
The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom products were l’occitaine.
Breakfast was included a little disappointing as limited choice.
Overall a great place we will be returning

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jplack716713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Santa Barbara and at the Hotel Milo! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Pros:
The hotel is in a great location, right across the street from West Beach. It has lovely flowers on the grounds and a wine tasting every afternoon included in the room price. The breakfast was continental, but generous. The pasteries were good and included gluten-free options. However, there were no tablecloths or table service, so it kind of felt like eating in a caffeteria. There was bike rental included in the price, but they didn't have even one bike with a kid's seat. Why not?

Cons:
For the price paid, the room was absolutely tiny. With our (small) suitcases on the floor, you could barely move around. I had a hard time getting my stroller out the door, that's how small it was. The staff met the absolute mimium of courtesy, with the exception of one lady (older than the rest of the staff) who I assume was the manager. She was significantly more helpful and friendly. The room was not ready until quite late in the afternoon (within the time stated on their site, but not in the time they personally told to me over the telephone). Our room looked out onto an alley that luckily was covered in ivy. There was almost no natural light in the room. The bathroom fixtures were, frankly, cheap. The rug in the room was dirty and stained. The "safe" was not attached to anything and could have been picked up and carried out with little effort. The hotel is made up of 5 or six separate buildings and the areas between them (where you need to walk to get anywhere) were ugly and unpleasant. I wouldn't mind all these things if it were a budget or even middle-of-the-road hotel, but at almost $350 USD per night, it is not in the least worth it. I wouldn't even consider staying here again.

Room tip: Might as well stay in a motel, or spend a little bit more for a truly nice hotel. This is utterly not worth the money.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoamWriteRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

We apologize that your stay did not meet up to your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We will share your comments with the appropriate departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

Location was perfect. Service was cordial.
Many things wrong...thin walls, dirty fitness center, minimal housekeeping after overnight stays, WIFI down and weak signal, breakfast area was chaotic and out of food and utensils (and it wasn't closing), two pools - and neither had a bathroom or sufficient towels.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DonitaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

We apologize that your stay did not meet up to your expectations. We will share your comments with the appropriate departments so we can take care of these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

We booked one night at Hotel Milo en route on our road trip south along the Californian coastline.
Unfortunately we didn’t reach the hotel till after 10pm so didn’t have a chance to properly appreciate it.
The location is right on the ocean front and seems well situated.
Although we arrived late it was full service on arrival with valet parking and very welcoming and fun staff at check in who were friendly and informative. We were given a complimentary glass of wine on arrival too.
The hotel has an interesting architectural style. No big reception areas that I could tell and rooms were accessed externally.
I believe there are two outdoor pools.
Our room was perfectly adequate but nothing to write home about. Entrance was straight from the walkway and furnishing was a minimum (no sofa or comfy chair) but the bed was comfortable and large with good linens.
The knob for controlling fan timing in the bathroom was very stiff and annoying.
We didn’t need the air con but it looked like one of those old noisy units.
The room was very clean and toiletries were also good.
Breakfast was in a small bistro area - self serve - and was actually fine and better than initial appearances might have led one to believe and was included in the room rate.
On checking out my wife took a shine to a hotel branded beach bag but didn’t make the purchase. When we got home she regretted not making the purchase and so I emailed the hotel.
I must say the hotel staff were AMAZING and went out of their way to organise sending it to us at a price including shipping (which was quick) which didn’t punish us too heavily for not making the impulse purchase.
We certainly have unfinished business in Santa Barbara as we were there for such a short time and given the position and friendly service would certainly consider revisiting Hotel Milo when we revisit.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank adamcaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. I will let our staff know how much they are appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews