We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First, the pluses: The King bed was very comfortable. The check in staff and everyone else including the maids were very friendly and did their jobs well. We had a room near the elevator which some people have complained about, but we found if we kept the fan on all the time, the 'white noise' kept us from hearing anything. With so many good restaurants in SB, it's a shame to eat at a Happy Hour, but the Bistro at the Hyatt has great deals on it's drinks and excellant quality appetizers for $5 each, and a nice atmosphere and view of the beach. The staff there is also incredibly nice to talk with, and were hard working and efficient.
Now, the minuses: It's an older building and there's just so much you can do with it. The bathroom was Totally inadequate....tiny, with no room to store anything there bigger than your toothbrush. Had to keep my shaving kit and everything else out on the table with the tv on it in the living room. The hot water pressure in the sink was just a trickle, but the shower was pretty good. The biggest negative? The carpeting was disgusting....beyond threadbare with stains all over it. Yuck. I don't see how a hospitality company could allow such a thing to exist. You wouldn't find that at the recently renovated Motel 6 just down the street, and next time I'm in town, I think I'd just as soon stay there. Not replacing those carpets makes me wonder if they plan on knocking the whole thing down soon and put up a new building. I really wanted to like this place more, but I just can't give it a very good rating.

Room Tip: If you don't mind 'white noise', keep the fan on and you should have no problems with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azcatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night with our 3 young children in a large size room with 2 queen beds and a baby crib. The baby crib was high quality and super clean. The crib was beautifully made up with a padded mattress and crib sheets, as well as, a lovely travel size assortment of baby toiletries! We thought this motel was fantastic value for money given its location, free parking and that it is owned and managed by the Hyatt which is 100m away. Guests have full access to the Hyatt's pool and facilities for fraction of the cost and the motel is 2 blocks from the beachfront. The mattresses, pillows, sheets, toiletries and towels are all high quality as they are the same as the Hyatt and we found the room and bathroom to be super clean. There is no front desk at the Motel as guests need to check-in at the Hyatt but for we had no issue with this as we didn't require assistance during our stay. We stayed on the 1st floor (top floor) of the motel and heard no noise from the corridors or our neighbors. We enjoyed our stay and felt our car was safe in the parking even though it wasn't secure (no homeless people in the empty parking lot across the street as reported by a previous reviewer). Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor (top floor) room to guarantee no noise from the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, great beds, great location, plenty of parking, friendly staff. You have full access to the Hyatt which is about 100 yards away. There is a park across the street. You can walk to the zoo and wildl

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Groverbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was very pleasantly surprised. The property is a short walk from the beach, but just out of walking distance from downtown. The electric trolley does run along the water during the day. There is also a park across the street and a local grocery store around the corner.

The building looks like it is a converted condo/apartment complex, and is very spacious. The room came with a couple of arm chairs and a flat-screen TV along with a comfortable bed and a patio. The noise level was a little high, especially in the hall, but not incredibly disruptive.

This inn is owned by the Hyatt next door. This allows you to use all the amenities at the Hyatt including the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

So happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised by our property. We do have a great location for an affordable price. Thank you so much for providing your personal knowledge of the Parkside Inn. I’m sorry that the noise level was slightly higher than you would have liked but hopefully it did not disturb your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the Parkside Inn and hope you will come to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at the Parkside Inn in Santa Barbara for three nights. We chose this hotel as they allowed dogs. First night we couldn't sleep because the bed was sloping towards the head, woke up with a head ache. The bathroom was gross and moldy, and the carpet was moist. Got the management to move us to a different room. The bed still sloped and we had to sleep with our heads by the foot board. Shower was ridiculously low, I am 5"4' and it touched my head. We could also hear every little noise in this room, the front door of the hotel slammed shut every few minutes and the elevator groaned as well we could even hear every flush of the toilet in the rooms near us. This made it very difficult to keep our dog calm as he wanted to investigate every noise. They also gave us a "dog toy" gift when we switched rooms. The dog toy ended up being a men's sock with an empty water bottle in it. Really, this from a Hyatt property. Very poor decision, too many dogs eat socks and wind up in the vet's clinic for intestinal blockage surgery. And super cheap, they spent more on the gift bag and wrapping than they did for the actual gift.

Location was good, great park next door. Made it really easy to exercise our dog.

Hyatt pool and jacuzzi were great but the service was lacking. We actually had a waiter come and ask if we had ordered drinks we said no and instead of taking our order he just walked away.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here make sure you ask for a room with a balcony they are better than the alte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for bringing this information to our attention. I apologize for the troublesome stay. This is not the standard we want Parkside to uphold and your personal experience is very important to us. I will pass this information along to our maintenance team to ensure our beds are level. As we have undergone renovations earlier this year, we purchased band new California king beds along with several other upgrades to make guests more comfortable. Because our room sizes vary at the Parkside, our bathrooms do as well. I’m so sorry for the inconvenience of the height of the shower and the noise level you encountered during your stay. Entering into the summer season, we are beginning to get very busy and I thank you for commenting on these issues so we can do our best to fix them. At the Parkside Inn, we love our pets and know sometimes it’s difficult for dog owners to find an affordable and convenient place that accepts pets. Finding a dog sitter can be a hassle and we want our guests and their pets to be able to enjoy their stay with a little “gift” that includes a small toy and treats. I’m sorry this did not meet your expectation; our intention was never to inflict harm or intestinal blockage. The Dwight Murphy Park is a great benefit while staying at the Parkside with a pet. We have been progressively preparing for our summer season and with that we are hiring and training several new employees throughout the Hyatt. Our customer service and hospitality are the top priority at both properties and we have recently made several additions at our pool bar and bistro in order to provide the best service possible. Please reconsider the Parkside Inn for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is owned and operated by the Hyatt. It is is an older hotel with no amenities on site, but you can use the Hyatt's Santa Barbara Hotel amenities which are just two blocks away. We had no problem with walking there and using the pool, etc. The room had no view (but that was ok with us) we weren't planning on staying in our room. The hotel is very quite. The King bed was awesome! It was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! It had a large flat screen tv and the room was a very good size. There is an iron and ironing board. They also give you a coffee maker with coffee and tea, also two Large bottles of water. It does not have a bath tub only a shower.

You are only two blocks from the beach and near everything else. We would stay here again for sure. The Hyatt has a great Happy Hour menu. We loved the food and drinks! A must! We also ate at the Resturant but we were too full from the happy hour food to enjoy the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Parkside Inn. As a guest of the Parkside Inn we encourage all of our guests to utilize the Hyatt’s amenities. Located just a block from Hyatt, Parkside Inn guests are a short walk from the beach and Waterfront Trolley which makes trips throughout the day up and down Cabrillo Blvd, with stops every couple blocks so guests can explore downtown Santa Barbara. I’m glad you slept comfortably in our beds! Since we recently went under renovation earlier this year, we purchased new beds and furniture, along with a few other upgrades to the property. We want our guests to feel like they are at home when they stay at the Parkside Inn so anything we can do to make your stay more at ease is our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here in April for a wedding in the area and couldn't have been happier. Reasonable price and walk to the beach and to the Hyatt pool and fitness room - all included in the price. The parking was great and free - rooms large and exceptionally clean. The staff was very attentive to any needs we called about. Refrig in room and largest flat screen TV I have ever seen in a hotel - plus a nice balcony off the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

It is so pleasant to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Parkside Inn. We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a great review for our property. As a Parkside guest, access to all of Hyatt’s amenities is a fantastic benefit for a much more affordable price. Please come visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara House by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Address: 424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $167 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara House by Hyatt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Barbara House by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing