We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, well-appointed Hyatt property 1/2 block from beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming, well-appointed Hyatt property 1/2 block from beach”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This small, charming, clean and updated property is such a great deal. 1/2 block from the shore, and a block from the Hyatt, it offers free internet, free parking, and a great room at an incredible price. You have access to all Hyatt amenities, but parking and in-room wireless internet are free. There is a musty smell in the elevator, but my room ($79 off-season) was fabulous. Little living room with frig, microwave and big flat-screen, separate bedroom, cute little bath. Everything is updated, from bedding to bathroom fixtures to furniture. Nice carpeting, no odor in room at all, and a cute little balcony off the living room. I paid the same price (reduced rate for relatives of patients at the nearby medical center) at the Quality in Santa Maria, and it was a stinky, smelly 70's hole with truck noise all night long on the freeway, a block away.

Room Tip: I would choose the 2nd floor. The cute little patios on 1st floor look accessible from the ground be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beulah621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We love to hear from our guests experiences, and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Access to all Hyatt amenities is a great benefit to Parkside guests, as it is much more affordable. I’m so sorry about the musty smell, since we are very close to the beach the moisture and salt sometimes lingers. I will communicate this to housekeeping to ensure this does not persist. Please come visit us soon! Our reopening is quickly approaching and we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    34
    19
    17
See reviews for
41
36
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Parkside Inn on Veteran's Day. The building is styled and painted to match the Hyatt. The furniture, bedding, towels, & toiletries are identical, and the building was spotlessly clean. No cobwebs, mold or smells. New dual-paned sliding glass doors block outdoor noise, and large flat-screen TVs, along with microwaves, and refrigerators are a bonus.
I almost feel like I stayed somewhere different than the whiners on TA! Yeah, the view sucks compared to the Hyatt, but for less than half the price, I'm okay with that for a night or two. It's a one-block walk to East Beach, and to the Hyatt. Your room key opens the doors to their gym, pool, whirlpool, & firepit. Of course, you are also welcome at their restaurants. We had 2 queens, upstairs, facing the park.
Special thanks to Rachael (in training) at check-in for the warm welcome, and flawless service!

Room Tip: Uptairs is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is not so bad. The rooms are nice and clean. It has a good location (5 min by driving to the center - state st.). The Hyatt facilities to use - also nice to have, although we did not try it.
However - the rooms smells bad... Like mold or something... The bathroom are very very small. So small that the sink is in the room itself and not in the bathroom. Its ok, but not so comf. If you are waking up in the middle of the night, all the room is up... You can't go to the bathrooms. And the light is the are with timer so during the shower it might go off... Not a wonderful experiance
Last thing - the walls are very thin. We could hear everything outside our room and above us. Not for light sleepers.. But its OK. I got it from hotwire for usd 110 +tax and their fees it was something like usd 135 - so it wasn't too bad for the money we spent. For more - I would not go.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the upper floor - maybe it leas noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Your feedback is important to us and I want to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the troublesome visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, although I am disappointed your stay is not as enjoyable as it could have been. I have alerted our housekeeping team regarding the smell and I’m so sorry for the inconvenient size of the bathroom. I hope you will be happy to know that we have made many enhancements to Parkside including: new carpet, paint, furniture and much more. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the newly renovated Parkside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed one night in a spacious room with two queen beds. No mold problems in the bathroom as a previous reviewer mentioned, but the elevator smelled "musty". No microwave as stated in the description, and the refrigerator didn't seem cold enough. Beds were fairly comfortable, and bedding was ok; bath towels were a little rough. Our room was on the second floor and faced the parking lot. We were unable to keep the sliding glass door open for fresh air while we slept because of the noise from nearby Highway 101; suggest staying on the opposite side (although I don't know what the view is from that side). Two nice leather (?) chairs and sofa in sitting area. All in all, ok room for the price ($123 incl. tax). Wish we would have had time to take advantage of the Hyatt facilities down the street -- maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your useful comment. It is always enlightening hearing about our guests stay, whether good or bad. I apologize for the inconvenience of not having a microwave in the room. That is not what we anticipate for our guests, and I will relay this to our maintenance team to ensure we have a microwave and refrigerator in each room. Our location is ideal, in that we are only 2 blocks from the beach and directly across the street from the Dwight Murphy Park. I know the 101 tends to be disturbing during traffic hours, but I hope you enjoyed the ocean breeze from the balcony. You may be interested to learn that we have completely redone the interior of the Inn and our once standard queen now features a California king. We have new furniture, among other things, and I urge you to return to see the final outcome and experience what Hyatt and the Parkside fully have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After reading the reviews, for the difference in price we thought we could live with the inconvience of going the Hyatt to check into this hotel. That was no big deal but the mold in the bathroom after we showered was. The Hyatt worked with us to switch rooms and gave us a free breakfast at the Hyatt restaurant. That was great but there was still mold in the bathroom of the room we switched to. Had them clean it which made it better but we would not recommend that anyone stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear about your problematic stay with us. We know it can be inconvenient for guests to check in at Hyatt, so we can arrange a bellman to drive you to Parkside via golf cart if need be. Because Hyatt is Parkside’s sister motel, we urge guests to take advantage of all of Hyatt’s amenities like: the pool, spa, gym and many other features. Thank you for your feedback. The mold in the bathrooms is completely unacceptable and as Parkside has gone under major renovations, this issue is a priority. Our maintenance engineers have been working vigorously to ensure Parkside’s new look is completely fresh and spotless for our new and returning guests at a reasonable price. Please reconsider Parkside Inn for your next stay in Santa Barbara, we would be delighted to have you back to see the turn out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights in lovely Santa Barbara. Paid about $200 plus tax at the Parkside. This was overly expensive for what you get. It was nice to be able to use the Hyatt facilities, but still... I don't really understand why Hyatt wants to manage such a facility and not make any more out of it to keep their reputation. This was not a good experience and I would not stay at the Parkside again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

For an expensive area this 'hotel' offers good value. Room was hot, or cold, not climate controlled. Location was reasonable, out post of the Hyatt, as mentioned elsewhere, but no problem with that, all friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBUKSOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your visit with us. I apologize for the air control issues; I have alerted our maintenance team with this matter. I’m so happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful, we truly care that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us so please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara House by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Property: Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Address: 424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara House by Hyatt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Barbara House by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing