We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“large, comfortable room near highway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara House by Hyatt to your Saves list
Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“large, comfortable room near highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed one night in a spacious room with two queen beds. No mold problems in the bathroom as a previous reviewer mentioned, but the elevator smelled "musty". No microwave as stated in the description, and the refrigerator didn't seem cold enough. Beds were fairly comfortable, and bedding was ok; bath towels were a little rough. Our room was on the second floor and faced the parking lot. We were unable to keep the sliding glass door open for fresh air while we slept because of the noise from nearby Highway 101; suggest staying on the opposite side (although I don't know what the view is from that side). Two nice leather (?) chairs and sofa in sitting area. All in all, ok room for the price ($123 incl. tax). Wish we would have had time to take advantage of the Hyatt facilities down the street -- maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your useful comment. It is always enlightening hearing about our guests stay, whether good or bad. I apologize for the inconvenience of not having a microwave in the room. That is not what we anticipate for our guests, and I will relay this to our maintenance team to ensure we have a microwave and refrigerator in each room. Our location is ideal, in that we are only 2 blocks from the beach and directly across the street from the Dwight Murphy Park. I know the 101 tends to be disturbing during traffic hours, but I hope you enjoyed the ocean breeze from the balcony. You may be interested to learn that we have completely redone the interior of the Inn and our once standard queen now features a California king. We have new furniture, among other things, and I urge you to return to see the final outcome and experience what Hyatt and the Parkside fully have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
32
27
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After reading the reviews, for the difference in price we thought we could live with the inconvience of going the Hyatt to check into this hotel. That was no big deal but the mold in the bathroom after we showered was. The Hyatt worked with us to switch rooms and gave us a free breakfast at the Hyatt restaurant. That was great but there was still mold in the bathroom of the room we switched to. Had them clean it which made it better but we would not recommend that anyone stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear about your problematic stay with us. We know it can be inconvenient for guests to check in at Hyatt, so we can arrange a bellman to drive you to Parkside via golf cart if need be. Because Hyatt is Parkside’s sister motel, we urge guests to take advantage of all of Hyatt’s amenities like: the pool, spa, gym and many other features. Thank you for your feedback. The mold in the bathrooms is completely unacceptable and as Parkside has gone under major renovations, this issue is a priority. Our maintenance engineers have been working vigorously to ensure Parkside’s new look is completely fresh and spotless for our new and returning guests at a reasonable price. Please reconsider Parkside Inn for your next stay in Santa Barbara, we would be delighted to have you back to see the turn out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights in lovely Santa Barbara. Paid about $200 plus tax at the Parkside. This was overly expensive for what you get. It was nice to be able to use the Hyatt facilities, but still... I don't really understand why Hyatt wants to manage such a facility and not make any more out of it to keep their reputation. This was not a good experience and I would not stay at the Parkside again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

For an expensive area this 'hotel' offers good value. Room was hot, or cold, not climate controlled. Location was reasonable, out post of the Hyatt, as mentioned elsewhere, but no problem with that, all friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBUKSOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann Y, Reservations Coordinator at Santa Barbara House by Hyatt, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your visit with us. I apologize for the air control issues; I have alerted our maintenance team with this matter. I’m so happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful, we truly care that each and every guest enjoys their stay with us so please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I found the Parkside to be just what I was looking for! I was coming home for a visit with some dear friends and it felt like home. The room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. I would recommend it to my friends and family and I will be back.
My only complaint was the room service food was a little cold by the time I got it. As long as I had coffee, I was happy~
Great job and thank you for the wonderful service~

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Santa Barbara is an expensive place to stay. I chose the Parkside Inn for price. Turns out the Parkside Inn is a long neighborhood block from the Hyatt and is run from there. It is near the railroad tracks and across from a playground (park). We did not hear the train during the night but did during the day. Formerly a 2-story motel with ~20 rooms, the Parkside has 3 or 4 steps to navigate to get to the elevator. Room was small. It is serviced by Hyatt room service and maids. I tried to phone three times prior to arrival, kept getting Hyatt. Neither the reservation nor general operator at Hyatt understood Hyatt's connection to the Parkside. We just stayed one night. It was fine considering how much more other properties wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed a great stay at the Parkside Inn during my niece's wedding over Memorial Day weekend. We had booked the hotel 6 months prior and got a great rate, half of the going rate if we had waited. And this was a cancellable one. The hotel is managed by the nearby and more expensive Hyatt where you check in and can use their facilities. The Parkside is a few blocks away, a bit hidden off the street. No fee parking is available, though the lot is small. Rooms were nicely laid out. Mine had two queen beds, a small frig and microwave, as well as a coffeemaker. I requested to be on the second floor, facing away from the front. The train tracks aren't far away and the sound is audible. I always bring earplugs with me no matter where I go, so suggest some for this place. Furnishings were fresh and bed very comfortable. The light over the vanity area malfunctioned, and after contacting the front desk, maintenance was there shortly and took care of the problem.The toiletries provided were very nice. Housekeeping tended to come by earlier in the morning, so either leave the Do Not Disturb sign out or be ready to answer the knocking on the door. Though a long walk from State Street, the 25 cent shuttle has a stop close by, so that worked out really well for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank af3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Crest Hotel Santa Barbara
Pacific Crest Hotel Santa Barbar...
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara House by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Property: Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Address: 424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara House by Hyatt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Barbara House by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing