We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I found the Parkside to be just what I was looking for! I was coming home for a visit with some dear friends and it felt like home. The room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. I would recommend it to my friends and family and I will be back.
My only complaint was the room service food was a little cold by the time I got it. As long as I had coffee, I was happy~
Great job and thank you for the wonderful service~

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
36
31
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Santa Barbara is an expensive place to stay. I chose the Parkside Inn for price. Turns out the Parkside Inn is a long neighborhood block from the Hyatt and is run from there. It is near the railroad tracks and across from a playground (park). We did not hear the train during the night but did during the day. Formerly a 2-story motel with ~20 rooms, the Parkside has 3 or 4 steps to navigate to get to the elevator. Room was small. It is serviced by Hyatt room service and maids. I tried to phone three times prior to arrival, kept getting Hyatt. Neither the reservation nor general operator at Hyatt understood Hyatt's connection to the Parkside. We just stayed one night. It was fine considering how much more other properties wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed a great stay at the Parkside Inn during my niece's wedding over Memorial Day weekend. We had booked the hotel 6 months prior and got a great rate, half of the going rate if we had waited. And this was a cancellable one. The hotel is managed by the nearby and more expensive Hyatt where you check in and can use their facilities. The Parkside is a few blocks away, a bit hidden off the street. No fee parking is available, though the lot is small. Rooms were nicely laid out. Mine had two queen beds, a small frig and microwave, as well as a coffeemaker. I requested to be on the second floor, facing away from the front. The train tracks aren't far away and the sound is audible. I always bring earplugs with me no matter where I go, so suggest some for this place. Furnishings were fresh and bed very comfortable. The light over the vanity area malfunctioned, and after contacting the front desk, maintenance was there shortly and took care of the problem.The toiletries provided were very nice. Housekeeping tended to come by earlier in the morning, so either leave the Do Not Disturb sign out or be ready to answer the knocking on the door. Though a long walk from State Street, the 25 cent shuttle has a stop close by, so that worked out really well for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank af3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent value! We call this a great Hyatt experience on a budget. The check-in/-out at the Hyatt (just a short walk away) was easy, the staff very professional, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable, very clean, with good quality furniture and very comfy beds. We appreciated the fridge, microwave, coffee maker, great toiletries and free wifi. It was also great having access to the pool & gym at the Hyatt. The hotel is located in a quiet area, just a short walk from the beach. We highly recommend the Parkside Inn in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were a little skeptical when we arrived-- the hotel looked a little run down from the outside, and there is no front desk-- you have to check in at the Hyatt a few blocks away. The hallway and elevator are a bit dingy, but the room was actually quite comfortable. There were actually two rooms-- a bedroom then a sitting room with a TV, sofa, and table. The bedding was very nice, and we actually quite enjoyed our stay. We had a good price and it was only a few blocks from the water, so we can't complain :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

once inside the room it was perfectly fine, but the exterior is shabby, the check-in down the road at the Hyatt is inconvenient and it's tricky to find. A little removed from the restaurant area but it's a pleasant stroll down the beach to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel would be much better for one night than the 3 nights we stayed. The beds are great and furniture nice. The rooms are clean. However, it was very noisy being on the first floor. It seemed like the people above us were stomping around all night. Also, because the check-in desk is at the near-by Hyatt, there is no staff at the hotel at night, and there was no one available to help people get in the main door without their key. There were some rowdy people coming back to their room late at night shouting for their companions to open the front door of the hotel to let them in. Also, I was not too happy to find that the Hyatt checked us out a day earlier than our reservation called for. Our electronic card key stopped working, so we could not get back into our room ourselves without walking back to the Hyatt to find out what happened. It's not a "resorty" location to enjoy for three days. It is next to the freeway and there is a parking lot across the street where there seem to be a lot of homeless people with old RV's setting up each day. I would recommend this hotel for an inexpensive one-day stopover. However, if we spend a few days on vacation in Santa Barbara again, I would prefer to stay in a nicer location next time.

Room Tip: Get a top (2nd) floor room. Ask for side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara House by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara House by Hyatt

Property: Santa Barbara House by Hyatt
Address: 424 Por La Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly The Parkside Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara House by Hyatt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Barbara House by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Hotel Santa Barbara
Parkside Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing