We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for alfresco lunch”
Review of Cielito Restaurant

Cielito Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: W. Anapamu St.
Description: Cielito's vision is to bring the flavors of Latin American and Mexican inspired cuisine to our Santa Barbara community. The menu features freshly made "antojitos" (small cravings) which reflect Santa Barbara's local ingredients and seasonal produce. Cielito also offers a mouthwatering Tequila bar with enticing libations and innovative cocktails as well as a wide selection of Tequilas and Mezcals. The inviting rooms and gracious staff at Cielito reflect our mission to provide both Santa Barbara locals and visitors with an unparalleled and memorable dining experience.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice spot for alfresco lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a great lunch here this past weekend. Ordered the chicken tacos, my friend got the shrimp tacos. You get two small ones on a rectangular platter with a tiny bowl of beans and then plenty of rice and a nice salad. The food has a fresh take on Mexican cuisine, very light and delicious. They didn’t bring tortilla chips but we did see some being served elsewhere, I think you have to order the guacamole to get chips. But, it didn’t matter, we were full and not stuffed, perfect for an afternoon of shopping!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    76
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Every single dish I've had here has been delicious and I've tried over a dozen different items. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank woody s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant does it all...comforting, but unique food served in an atmosphere that is at once modern, trendy, upscale, but cozy and welcoming. I loved sitting outside beneath the flaming heaters. The food was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrienne_dewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Was happy with our first visit and couldn't wait to return, BUT should have left it as a good memory.
2nd visit was poor service from beginning to end.
The waiter was appealing and unhelpful, complained to the manager who Apologised and enthused about the English trained French pastry chef and promised us a sample as an apology, still waiting for it as never saw him or the cake again. The food was good hence the 2nd visit especially the al pastor but won't return for the poor service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Salsa at it's finest”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Salsa is not the only draw here but after we left we believe we were served the best salsas ever, both red and green (tomatillo). They are definitely a reason to go eat here. Everything was superb. My wife's salad with sliced nectarines, walnuts, butter lettuce was really good and my pork tacos were unusually good. Real Margaritas with fresh squeezed limes and cointreau were special and, although this was just a light lunch for us, it was delicious. The fancy bar adds a great atmosphere in which to dine at Cielito

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cielito Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cielito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing