We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money.”

AAE Santa Barbara Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AAE Santa Barbara Guest House
Ranked #13 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It says that cleanliness and safety are at the highest standard - absolutely not. It was so dirty!! The first room we booked, a private double, was made up of a single bed and a single bunk bed. All the beds sagged in the middle and we were required to make our own beds. In the process of making the bed we noticed that there were huge wet patches on the floor and a USED CONDOM. Upon telling this to the staff they upgraded us to their best room (the staff did deal very well with this and we're nice and apologetic). Immediatly we noticed crumbs in the bed and a cupcake wrapper on the floor. While it was definatelt an upgrade there was a DISGUSTING smell that came from the bathroom every now and then which made us dry wretch. In so far as safety goes the doors have tiny flimsy locks on them. They have a staff member at reception the whole time which helps but there's a back door that's open to the back car park which anybody an access during the day. It advertises that it is 'new'' but it's in an old house with old and cheap furniture. The bed we ended up sleeping in had painful springs across it. The couch was hard and uncomfortable. They DO have good Internet and good digital entertainment available. Pay the extra money to stay at a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not go here. Pay extra to go to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soph60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
1
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Strict and unwavering cancellation policy. I paid to make a reservation on the same day, and other plans came up. I still had to pay a full night's stay. I expressed my misunderstanding of the policy but was met with relative coldness. It's also quite expensive for a hostel. I don't have much else to say about it. The weather in Santa Barbara is beautiful! It's a lovely place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LanceGriff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Never been so disappointed! For 155$/night for my Girlfriend an I we really were expecting a better place. Plastic mattress, sheets to small for the bed, curtains missing, broken sink... Allright, Santa Barbara is expensive, but this is a scam. I would never recommend this place unless they divide their price by 2.

Room Tip: Choose another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viscotia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hostel was quite a surprise when I first arrived. I was a little thrown off that it looked like a house, but I went in anyways. It was adorable inside! The rooms were a little small, but still spacious enough for my luggage. The beds were a little squeaky but much more comfortable then some of the beds I have stayed in before at other hostels. I had booked a dorm, and I enjoyed meeting the people who stayed in the same room with me! The guesthouse has a lovely commens area with a TON of DVD and books to choose from. And I cannot forget about the patio! Perfect for relaxing in the sun, I was able to eat every meal outside! Such a lovely place! Ill be back!

Room Tip: Dorm are fun, but can be loud. If you want a quieter experience I would suggest a private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessZion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Ok first of all this opinion is from someone who has stayed in there fair share of hostels so I'm not one to expect a lot butttttt this place took the biscuit.... We stayed here for 4 nights and I wanted to leave the first night but we had already paid... So here are the issues... 1.the places is not clean there was ants all over the bathroom floor disgusting there's only 2 bathrooms in the place and one sink didn't work so people were getting frustrated at waiting to use the bathroom ...2. The "breakfast is a joke make ure own pancakes ... Please! We woke up went down the a tiny kitchen to a bowl of pancake mix for the whole hostel I might add and instructions on how to make ure own pancakes what a joke...3. We payed a lot of money to stay here cos everywhere was booked out we booked at 4 bed dorm but it was joined onto anther room for 5 ppl so they had to walk In and out of our room to get to there so we might as well have been In a 10 bed dorm!!!.... Overall this place is a joke I know most ppl Travelling only want the basics but this is below that trust me... Lots more issues to tell lack of toilet paper in bathroom .. Owners never at reception always in tere rv at the back of the hostel. Overall terrible experience !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel is in a very small and old house. The rooms are tiny and the walls so thin that you can hear everybody arriving, leaving, talking, laughing.... Our room was next to the common room/tv room which practically meant that we could follow all the dialogs of the movie they were watching next door and that we had no privacy what so ever. The beds were crappy and squeaked everytime you turned. In our room it smelled like fried food...all night. On our floor there was a tiny toilet and a bathroom with a tub and a nonfunctioning sink. Breakfast was: make your own pancake. And last but not least: as a couple we paid 130 Dollars which was definitely too much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangerine0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a great hostel/guesthouse. It's in a smaller house but has around 10 nice rooms. Each pretty new. It's very clean and you get great pancakes for breakfast. The staff is really easy going and will help you make your stay as comfy as possible. They know a lot of good tips for going out or having a nice dinner. And the atmosphere is great! You have a nice kitchen to meet people and a pretty decent living room with TV, lots of movie and book for your entertainment. Definitely to recommend!

Room Tip: Room number 4 or 5 has a little garden which is pretty decent or one of the rooms upstairs, since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovro141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAE Santa Barbara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Santa Barbara Guest House

Property: AAE Santa Barbara Guest House
Address: 111 North Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your AAE Santa Barbara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing