We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moreton Bay Fig Tree

Moreton Bay Fig Tree
Ranked #11 of 173 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This isn't a Disney reproduction - it's the real thing!!! You don't have to be a tree hugger or nature person to fully appreciate the grandeur of this tree! We sought it out because I happen to appreciate that something natural and this magnificent still exists and is faring so well. Thanks to SB for keeping it standing. I believe I read somewhere that officials went around it when building highways in order to preserve it. It's easy to get to and definitely worth a few minutes out of your day in SB. Note though that the address shown could be incorrect. We did go to the address shown, the gentleman with whom we conversed (he was sitting on his stoop reading his paper) was very nice! It's actually behind the SB train station. You can park there for free unless you want to speak a lot of time. A definite must.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    76
    32
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Figgy fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I remember seeing this tree when I was a child. Needless to say, it was a point of interest when I came to SB last summer with my husband and kids. The tree is expansive and the roots are so amazingly large that my kids had a hard time climbing on top of them - they just couldn't believe it! The tree is along the railway tracks, and not in the center of a beautiful park or anything, but is still a site to see when in Santa Barbara!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A nice tree , no doubt but very uminoressively presented, the park is totally underwhelming , come on SB do something
Ho hum

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
455 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“A sight to behold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Located down by the SB train station in a small adjacent park, this magnificent ficus is a wonderful natural attraction. If you are in the area, it is worth a look. Sit among the gigantic roots and contemplate on how we humans impact the Earth. Nature is truly spectacular in all its forms.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Hidden photo op and interesting stop on the backside of Amtrack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm speechless for three reasons:
1). This Tree is big and there are photo ops but watch out for traffic when stepping out into parking lot or street trying to get the perfect shot!

2). The SB City and Amtrak could have did a little more this place; I'm thinking of the word of beautification or the phrase neglected landmark!

3). It is about a 5-7 minutes stop similar to a pulloff/cutoff scenic view.

If you need to use the bathroom, use Amtrack.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdreynoldsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moreton Bay Fig Tree also viewed

 

Been to Moreton Bay Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing