We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Debbie Pickett”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay here, such a great location! Restaurant was outstanding good service and even better food. The hotel is very well designed with special attention to detail. Staff was friendly and helpful.We travelled by train and walked everywhere. I am looking forward to returning very soon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Ms. Pickett,
We're so happy you hopped on the Amtrak Surfliner train for a wonderfully scenic trip to Santa Barbra; it was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests! Thank you for the positive review and compliments of the hotel and restaurant’s exceptional service. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent find. Fantastic location for SB, on State Street, near the pier, right off the funk zone. The decor was wonderful, from the fighting fish in the lobby to the living wall and all of the space models in the cases. Our breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was also quite tasty. Staff was very courteous and efficient. Prices quite reasonable.

Expect Europe-like accommodations --the bed has little space on either side (although the bed itself was quite large and very comfy); bathroom that does not separate out the toilet from the shower or sink unless you close off the glass door and minimal space on the vanity. All of the facilities were good quality and new (i.e., shower, TV etc.); minimal closet space, but nevertheless quite functional.

Easy access to 101 as well if you are needing to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear doobiewah,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback and tips on Hotel Indigo and Blue Tavern restaurant! I am especially pleased to hear you enjoyed our fantastic Funk Zone location and also our unique amenities; you are the first to mention our beautiful Beta fish Indy! Your details on the quality and functionality of our European room style are very useful to future guests. Thank you for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This cute little hotel is located in the best part of Santa Barbara. You can walk anywhere.
The rooms are great, super efficient and the staff really knows the town.
Special thanks to William at Front desk

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeFe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear FeFe,
Thank you for the short and sweet review of our efficient rooms and location! The compliments towards our knowledgeable staff, especially William, are always appreciated and highly motivating to read!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loved this hotel. It is picturesque Santa Barbara in my book. Trendy, but low-key. There is no elevator, but there is a luggage lift if you need it. I really liked the decor and they had some really cute outdoor patios. Our room was very small. Our standard room would fit 2 people and 2 people only, but it made good use of the space. The toliet was square and the shower was quite bizarre in that to use it you had to pull out a sliding glass door and then close a curtain. The best part is the location. It is literally right next door to the Amtrak station and one block from the beach. It is also directly connected to a restaurant/bar and surrounded by other restaurants. We only stayed one night, but I would 100% return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear travelcal033,
Thank you for the wonderful review of Hotel Indigo’s trendy, low-key style and prime location. We’re happy you enjoyed the sunny Santa Barbara weather in our outdoor lounges and recommend reserving one of our downstairs private garden patio rooms on your next visit. Thank you again for the descriptive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent one night at the cute and quirky Hotel Indigo this past weekend and were very impressed. Close to the beaches, right on State Street, with a very friendly and welcoming front desk staff! Our room was small yet really cute, and I was impressed with how the space in the bathroom was maximized. Tip: don't expect much from the fitness center (it's really small with only a couple of machines and some weights)...better yet, rent bikes across the street and exercise that way. We tried to reserve a table at the attached restaurant, yet it was booked (Sat night)...so I guess it must be good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyR835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Andy,
We appreciate your great review of our cute, quirky hotel by the sea; our front desk associates were especially happy to see your positive comments! You’re right, biking around the neighborhood is a fun way to exercise and we now have two complimentary beach cruisers to get you around. Please give us a call before your next visit so we can reserve a table for you at delicious Blue Tavern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Such a nice weekend getaway, great staff, cute hotel and close to everything. I was able to walk right in and get a room. We parked the car and never had to move it again, walked everywhere. Rooms are very small, but functional and updated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Kimmi G,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our location between the beach, downtown, and the up-and-coming Funk Zone, is perfect for enjoying Santa Barbara car-free! We look forward to your next visit to Hotel Indigo and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a great place to get away for the weekend: train close, friendly staff, not noisy, good patios, pet friendly, delicious food! It's a great location for walking state street or to the peer, and it's close to several of the wineries that have opened up in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Jennifer,
We’re happy to be the perfect spot for your weekend getaway! We love when our guests enjoy the hotel’s amenities and also explore the Urban Wine Trail and many nearby attractions by foot. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $176 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing