We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and yet again, a very good stay was had!

Reception staff and management were very attentive throughout our stay and when we encountered an issue with noise in the room fixed straight away!

I frequently stay with IHG properties worldwide and the majority of them are no different in terms of amenities, room decor etc however; the group has finally got it right with this "boutique" brand whilst still recognising its frequent travellers.

The feel of the hotel mirrors the staffs' enthusiasm and you are made to feel very welcomed the moment you step through the door... A glass of wine from a local winery was offered up immediately upon check in for the jet lagged traveller. Even being acknowledged as a returning guest from over 12 months ago was appreciated.

What the hotel lacks in facilities - no pool, hot tub, it makes up for in its charm. Oh and it's location being one block from the beach tempered that too!

The rooms were immaculately presented with great amenities. Our first room encountered noise from the restaurant extraction during the early hours, but after a swift word with front desk, we were moved to a quieter room... Luggage and all whilst we were out for the day.

The hotel is positioned in the heart of the "funk zone" and restaurants, bars and wine tasting rooms within a short stroll were a plenty.

Would we stay here again? Without a second thought! Can't wait for our return visit

Thanks to all staff and management at the Hotel a Indigo, Santa Barbara!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gillyblue252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Gillyblue252,
Thank you for the positive review, you really made our day! I was especially happy to read your comments on our staff and management; it is highly motivating to everyone at Hotel Indigo. Being a small boutique hotel allows us the opportunity to give our guests extra attention and incorporate our favorite local places. We're glad you explored the Funk Zone and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 511 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very impressed, it was a nice for a good price. We've never been to Santa Barbara, and the friendly staff was excellent at giving us places to go while we were there. Room and bathroom were quite small, it may have bothered me after an extended period of time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear LeeBone,
Thank you for the positive review! We're happy to have made your first visit to sunny Santa Barbara a great one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night in January. Cite little hotel, really close to the beach, relaxed. Smallish rooms but good value. Friendly service and they have free rental bikes.

Bike ride along the coast line was amazing. Definitely recommend.

There is a car park too next to the hotel, can't remember how much is was to park overnight but seemed reasonable.

Each room had a little patio area too which was pretty cute!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear AymanN,

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and had an amazing bike ride along the beach! Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our coast drive from L.A to San Fran.

Staff were all excellent and the property oozes charm from the moment you step in the front door.

The trains were a surprise but they don't run all night. The last one we heard was about 10pm and the first one about 6am.

Rooms are on the small side but still easily fit our BIG luggage.

Fabulous restaurant at your doorstep but also recommend the great pizzas and local beer down the road at The Santa Barbara Brewing Company.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank DMBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear DMBondi,
Thank you for the positive review and compliments! We appreciate your feedback regarding the room size and trains and are glad you enjoyed Blue Tavern. Our staff was happy you tried out their recommendation downtown for our favorite local beer and pizza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We only got to stay one night in this great hotel, but the location was perfect a block away from the pier and only a stroll away from the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms have a real 'arty' feel about them, different to anywhere I have stayed before, I loved it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It is next to a train track but I don't think they run all night we slept fine. I wish I had more time at hotel indigo and in and in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riss83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Riss83,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests all the way from Australia! We were so happy to recommend local spots to explore within walking distance. Our annual art gallery in the hotel will be opening late January so please come back to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara for one night. My boyfriend and I were visiting/celebrating our anniversary.

Let's start with the pros. We arrived early evening, check in was easy. My first impression of the hotel was that it was very modern, trendy and clean. The room itself was compact (the room description said it would be so this wasn't a surprise), but it was enough room for the two of us. They had complimentary wine, cheese and truffles (YUM!) in the lobby so I went to grab a couple of glasses. All goodies were delicious. Our TV wasn't working so I informed Frank (front desk) who was exceptionally helpful and came right away to fix it for us, talk about speedy service! We had dinner at a restaurant a couple blocks over (within walking distance) and planned to get after dinner drinks at the attached restaurant at the hotel. We ended up not, but the restaurant looked full of people when we left and returned. Side note: you can get free coffee at the restaurant in the morning simply by showing your room key. The "wet" European style bathroom was interesting, in a good way. I've never used one before but it was compact as well, but efficiently organized. It was very clean and well stocked with Aveda (YESSSSS) products, fluffy towels and robes. The next morning, we walked to Stearns Wharf (short 5 minute walk).

Now the cons. The parking was pretty small and not marked well. The area itself seemed TOO quiet, this isn't really a con, but for two people who are used to loud cities, it was a bit off putting. The room we got had a garden patio and in all honesty, it wasn't really worth it. It was underwhelming compared to the pictures online.

As you can see, the pros heavily outweigh the cons. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on going to the area. If I ever find myself in Santa Barbara again, there's a good chance I would stay at the Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank aprAasileM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear aprAasileM,
Thank you for taking the time to write us an amazing review! We were happy to be a great fit for your travel style and anniversary celebration. Our location between the beach and downtown, the up-and-coming Funk Zone, is rapidly changing with many new establishments opening over the next few years. We hope you return sometime in the future to enjoy Hotel Indigo and the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel has a good location, only a few minutes walk away from the beach. However, rooms are very noisy, as the railway tracks are running just behind the hotel. No soundproofed windows. When a train is passing through you will wake up for sure. Also, rooms and bathrooms are tiny. The shower doesn't have separate basin, that means after your shower the whole bathroom will be over floated. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia_M187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Claudia,
I appreciate your feedback and am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us at Hotel Indigo. We are proud of our proximity to the train station and the compact size of our rooms, both of which we try to convey to all guests through our website, reviews, and on the phone; I am sorry you were unaware of these facts before arrival. The comfort of our guests is very important to us so earplugs are provided in each room and all windows are double-paned. Our compact rooms all have European style wet bathrooms; this allows us a smaller ecological footprint and to be a certified ‘Green Engage’ hotel. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $175 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing