We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Hotel Packs a Powerful Punch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small Hotel Packs a Powerful Punch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed two nights at Hotel Indigo in lovely Santa Barbara while there on business. Even though the square footage in the rooms/bathroom is smaller than your typical room, the new architechtural design geared toward functionality is impressive. The hotel has been newly remodeled and provides every convenience. One annoyance was that there is no elevator for this two-story building. However, there is a "lift" that provides for luggage to be moved from the ground level to the second floor. I had one large suitcase and a smaller suitcase that I did not want to pull up the stairs. I noticed that the restaurant at this hotel is quite popular - a full house each evening. Because the hotel is located on State Street, you can easily walk in one direction thru Santa Barbara's new downtown - lots of restaurants and shopping. If you walk in the opposite direction, you are only 1 block from the waterfront. Location - Location - Location. My room was perfect for one traveler - would have been a bit crowded for two unless there are larger rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the hotel that is not near the train tracks - when the wind kicks up ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny4urTh0ughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Penny4urTh0ughts,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel’s design and proximity to downtown, waterfront and ‘Funk Zone’ attractions. Next time you visit Santa Barbara, please call the hotel directly and we can help reserve one of our garden patio rooms on the ground floor. Thanks again for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    175
    60
    34
    5
See reviews for
66
249
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location! I was disappointed that we didn't stay here on our last trip, we stayed at the holiday inn, but I decided to take a tour of this hotel. The front desk clerk was the most accommodating, he showed us the king bed room with garden patio, upstairs king bed room, and patio area. This boutique hotel is quaint for two, EUROPEAN rooms are smaller than the rooms at this hotel, and I loved the innovative artistic concepts at this hotel. The hallways display local artwork, therefore the hotel offers a feast for the eyes, and romantic coziness to read and bask in the ocean air. This hotel is pet friendly (another plus), and walking distance to the beach and pier ( less than a block). Also I loved that the hotel is GAY friendly, and I love the comfort of knowing the staff embraces diversity.
Beds are über comfy, rooms spell wonderful, and I especially like the garden patio rooms. The showers or bathrooms are at most a two butt room, but a challenge for two women sharing the same resources (hair dryer, mirror, and sink area) so one will need to get ready in the room area (not a deal breaker for us since we had to get ready in European bathrooms that were smaller).

Room Tip: Garden patio rooms for those who enjoy enjoy space with their traveling companion (pets), and I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysgrl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sunnysgrl01,

Thank you for the amazing review! I am happy to hear Brandon gave you a warm Indigo welcome and thorough tour of the hotel common spaces and rooms. We would love to have you as our guests on your next visit to Santa Barbara; our new art exhibit, The Vastness is Bearable, is being installed in January so please stop by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I were in SB celebrating her b-day and wanted a hotel a block from the beach and on State Street. Indigo SB was perfect. We walked on the beach, pier and up and down State Street for everything except the SB Zoo which is just 5 minutes away and definately a nice way to spend 3 hours.

The hotel staff including Hao, Frank and Daniel were very gracious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobuffs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gobuffs7,
Thank you for the positive review and for choosing to celebrate the birthday weekend at Hotel Indigo. We’re so happy you explored many fun attractions near us including the Santa Barbara Zoo (the giraffes really have the best ocean view)! We greatly appreciate your kind comments on our wonderful staff as well, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I loved this hotel so much I decided to extend my 1 night stay to two nights. The ENTIRE staff was so friendly and chipper from the moment I walked through the doors, eager to give info about Santa Barbara attractions, places to eat, etc. The hotel is near the beach and also near downtown, so from the second I parked my car I didn't get it in until I left. The first night we have a garden room that had it's own patio, which was phenomenal. The second night of our stay they no longer had the room available (I wish I planned more in advance for that one), so we moved to a room upstairs. The room was actually a little bit bigger than the garden room. The bathrooms in both rooms more or less turn into showers. Because of this the area in front of the toilet has to be toweled down, no biggie, after. The water pressure was pretty decent. I only had three issues: the second night of our stay, which was a Friday night, there was a construction crew working outside of our window until 2 am!!!!! I am not sure if they were working on the new restaurant that is being put into the hotel or the abandoned restaurant next door, but they were very noisy. The hotel provides earplugs in the bathroom, probably because this hotel is in a noisier area, but still... contruction crews that late running loud motors, trucks, generators, and shouting to one another in the parking lot on the side of the hotel was very hard to take. The other thing is I wish the rooms had small refrigerators. I was staying there with my 18 month old who needs milk throughout the day, so I had to bring a cooler. They said they had a communal fridge and I could just go to the front desk any time I needed something from that... I didn't want to stumble through the hotel first thing when my daughter woke up to get her milk. The last note, this is not a great hotel for kids, not because of them not being accomodating to children, but because the hotel inside is quiet and the whole hotel is an art gallery. It could ruin someone's stay with kids running through the halls. My daughter is extremely well behaved and quiet and used to staying in hotels. My very last issue, was back to the first night of our stay, when we were on the bottom floor, we could hear the people above us walking and sounding like stomping all night. They went out around 9 and came back around 2:30 in the morning and stomped around until 4 am!!!! So loudly at times that it would wake both the baby and I up... and baby's usually sleep through anything! Beyond the three issues, I will stay here again. I love the staff, the location, the cleanliness and design of the rooms, and the whole hotel itself. I had friends join me on a roof top balcony the second night of our stay for wine.... it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a garden room that has it's own private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyslippas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dear Sandyslippas,
Thank you for your comprehensive review; we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay at Hotel Indigo. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed a nice evening with friends and local wine on the upstairs patio! Please call the hotel when planning your next visit to Santa Barbara and we will be happy to reserve a downstairs patio room for you in advance. Thank you again; it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we honor your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location. Within walking distance to everything. Great customer service and room was very clean. The hotel had extra perks such as wine tasting one night. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uclagracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear uclagracie,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad you enjoyed the hotel's proximity to beautiful Santa Barbara attractions, as well as the customer service and complimentary local wine tasting. We hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is a great place for the right kind of traveler. The decor and cleanliness was astounding...just great. The hotel lends itself to a artsy, sophisticated and European look and feel. It would be a perfect place for singles, business people or young couples.
We, however, were a family and there are some drawbacks. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms are even smaller-definitely the European type of style, so not relaxing for 3 or 4 people. It was a family trip, with my mom, partner and her dog. The bathroom door is a frosted glass door with a gap that can be seen through-ie, not a lot of privacy. We didn't feel comfortable with this kind of setup. Also, the floor is type, so you'd hear the clicks of the dogs nails all the time. The hotel is pet friendly but to a point...the layout really isn't that dog friendly and they charge a $40 fee for the pet. Also, the fitness room is tiny with only a treadmill and elliptical machine and very little room for much else.
All of us commented how we could see the hotel being a great fit for singles, business travelers, young couples or young friends-especially with it's flare, decor and location.
And I would like to note how accommodating the management was to us which is why I bumped my review from 4 to 5. They were extremely helpful and understanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
209 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a unique find a block from the beach. It's very European and compact in design, but that also means everything is brand new and attractive. Yes, other reviewers have commented on how small the rooms are, but it didn't seem to make a difference since everything is right there that you need. There is a library area where you can go to relax and spread out and two nice outdoor patios with comfy cushions.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Robert was there to help with anything we needed and the young woman at the desk with the long dark hair (sorry, forgot her name) was so good at giving us local suggestions on what to see.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the street and we liked that. Not sure what the rooms down the corridor had f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear tapestries
We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Indigo and we were a nice fit for your travel style! I am especially pleased to see your wonderful mention regarding our excellent staff; it is always motivating to see our guest’s appreciation and comments! Our new restaurant ‘Blue Taven’ is opening next month and will be a great addition for you try on your next visit. Thank you again for the thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#24 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing