We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Avalon, California, United States
1 review
“beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was wonderful from the moment we walked in the door! Carmen at the front desk was super sweet and very helpful. Parking was 14$, but once you're parked you don't have to drive anywhere, everything is within walking distance.They do have a valet in case you don't want to circle the parking lot in search of a spot, they take care of it for you and its included in the price of the room! The room wasn't huge, but it was practical and we barely spent any time in the room anyway so we didn't care about the size at all... The bathroom was interesting, id never seen a shower like that before, i thought it was very cool and a great way to save space. I also really enjoyed the bed... it was one of the most comfortable i have ever slept on. I would say that the only thing hindering me giving them a 5/5 is the fact that there are train tracks right next to the hotel, it wasn't going all night or anything but it did wake me up around 8:00 am or so. I fell right back to sleep though because of the cozy bed. Also our room was on the side where the train is, if you have a huge problem with it you could always request a room on the opposite side, otherwise they do provide you with ear plugs which is very thoughtful. If i ever return to SB i would definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for the positive review on our beautiful hotel and location! You've covered many great aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative for the wonderful mention of Carmen at the front desk; it is always hugely motivating when our guests take the time to acknowledge our staff member's services. We're glad you could explore the neighborhood car-free and would love to point out a few new things to see on your next visit! Please give us a call before your arrival and we would be happy to accommodate your request of a certain room location. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    170
    56
    34
    5
See reviews for
62
242
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our two day stay here. The room was very small, but very nice. We had a small private patio. There is a small fitness room and free coffee is the morning. They have ear plugs in the room, but we asked about the Amtrak and they said the train usually came around 630 in the morning, which is seemed to. But it was ok, just a few beeps from the horn then the noise is gone. It really is nothing for reviewers to be complaining about. This is a cool hip hotel and I would recommend to stay here. You can walk to the wharf, restaurants, everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakesbyroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Roman,

Thank you for your review on our 'cool and hip' hotel near the Amtrak! We're glad you enjoyed your garden patio room and easy access to local attractions; we hope to see you again in Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

While booking they failed to mention that the hotel was on an Amtrak railway line which makes it very noisy. The reception area and amenities are good, rooms are tiny and beds of poor quality. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola_V_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback about your stay at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. We strive to provide as much information regarding the Amtrak location and room style prior to guest booking and arrival; it is unfortunate this was not conveyed to you ahead of time and the proper department shall be notified. We apologize you were unsatisfied with the bed; please do not hesitate in contacting our front desk associates when anything is not working correctely in the room as we would gladly send our maitenance engineer to fix the problem immediately. Thank you again, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Sept 2012 as part of our California Road Trip. It was a perfect stop off point, en route to San Diego.
The rooms/bathroom are small and modern but ideal for a stop over/few days whilst visiting Santa Barbara. There is adequate parking and the service is excellent.
The location of the hotel is also good, walking distance to both the beach and the shopping.
I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Santa Barbara for a few days, any longer and you may want a bigger hotel with more facilities, that said I have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephield82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Stephield82,

Thank you for the great review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara and for staying with us during our exciting first year open! We're happy to be a part of your fabulous California road trip and that we were able to provide memorable service, modern rooms, and a great location. Please keep us in mind on your next visit, we'de love to show you the remodels to our restaurant and neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved this hotel - in a great location close to the beach and on the main street, with car parking right next door (for a small charge). Staff were courteous and friendly. Although the room was small it was full of character, and having two gorgeous outside spaces on our corridor was great. Décor is colourful and upbeat and the art work around the hotel gives it a great atmosphere. A fridge in the room would be a good addition although it'd be challenging in such a small space.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about our Hotel Indigo and prime location! We are so happy to hear your feedback on the ongoing art exhibit and the character of our rooms/outdoor spaces; it is part of what makes this a unique property in Santa Barbara. We also thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

it's these small, well-thought out and planned hotels that really make my day. everything you need - nothing more, nothing less in a very nice, welcoming environment. location is perfect, beds comfy and the little private balcony that helps you forget about the loud trains and thin walls... btw they provide earplugs. absolutely my place to stay each and every time in SB.

Room Tip: we found out when checking out that there is another side of the hotel that doesn't get the full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3TravelMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sy2012,

Thank you for the great review! We're pleased to see your appreciation for well-thought out and planned spaces and are happy we were a good fit for your travel style. Please give us a call before your next visit with any room requests, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice and it was perfect on both occasions. We have recommended it to friends and they loved it as well...

The location is great with the beach on one side and the busy shopping street on the other. You can forget your car for your stay which is parked at no charge next door!

The rooms are small but very well equipped

It is not that suitable for children as the hotel is a city hotel with no grounds and no pool.

Room Tip: If you want the quietest possible room ask for a room at the rear of the hotel on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPOC O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Epoc O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our great location and exploring Santa Barbara by foot; we now have complimentary beach cruisers for you to use while checking out our changing neighborhood. We greatly appreciate you recommonding our hotel to your friends and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Property: Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing