We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stopped in Santa Barbara on a return trip from San Francisco to San Diego. The Indigo Hotel is Santa Barbara's newest, contemporary hotel right in the heart of Santa Barbara on State Street. Next to Amtrak Station, but fairly quite, as we only heard one train around midnight. Excellent locations to restaurants, shops and galleries on State Street. Easy walking distance to beach and Stearns Wharf.

Our room was a little small, because it did not have a patio area that they plan to add on in the future. The patio areas on the first floor are nice and a quite spot to read. Indigo is in the process of building an on site restaurant. There is a charge for parking like many hotels now, but it was very reasonable at $14 per night and good space availiblity.

We chose the Indigo Hotel, because it is dog friendly and we had a small dog on our Thanksgiving week travels. Staff was friendly and helpful. No vending machines, but a small sundry area, which was nice. We enjoyed the one night stay.

Room Tip: It is our understanding that the rooms on the second floor are a little larger. The second floor al...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardSandiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 510 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was totally re-furbished and converted from a hostel in 2/2012, so everything is brand new. It is literally right across the tracks from the Amtrak station, only 2 blocks from the wharf & beach. State Street shopping and restaurants are just a few blocks the other way. So, 5+ stars for location.

The rooms are small, but about the most efficient use of space I've seen. For example, the 5x5 bathroom is all tile, with a drain in the floor. When you sit on the toilet, your feet are actually in the "shower" space, but when you want to take a shower, a cleverly-placed, swinging glass door and shower curtain give you a surprisingly large shower. The bedroom, at roughly 9x11, also crams a lot into a small space. A very comfortable bed dominates the room, and doesn't leave you much walking space, but there's a large-screen TV, a desk, and even a small closet with a safe and 2 drawers. I'd think twice before bringing the whole family for a vacation at the beach for a week (although the 1st floor rooms do have a patio), but for a day or two in Santa Barbara, it's perfect. Especially if you come up from LA on the train.

As other reviews have stated, this 2-story hotel has no elevator, so be advised, if you need one. This, and the small rooms, knock it down to 4 stars overall IMO, but if you don't need the space, and can walk up one flight of stairs, I'd rate it 4 1/2 - 5 stars. Despite the nearby train tracks, we never heard a train all night until about 9-10am.

A friendly staff, wine & cheese hour, a small gym (2 machines), and a small conference room round out the amenities. Overall, a welcome addition to expensive Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor give you a small patio for extra space.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A recent 3-day stay at Hotel Indigo was terrific. Newly renovated, it is clean, modern, light, airy, and very comfortable (There's nothing like a new bed and linens). There was a SoHo-art-gallery-meets-EuroStyle feel to the decor with original, contemporary art (some painted directly on the walls) and a living plant wall. Frankly, the well-chosen pieces were so creative and fun that I've become a bigger fan of contemporary art. The hotel's owner shares his library of art books with guests on the honor system and the staff are among the best I've seen. The hotel is steps from the train station, but the old brick walls are so thick that the rooms are very quiet. Trolley stops are close and take you up State Street or along the water. I went with friends, and will be back with my husband. Did I mention complimentary wine at Happy Hour?

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are further from the train station. Ground floor rooms have patios.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kflouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in downtown Santa Barbara close to almost everything. Cute little boutique hotel with modernistic amenities. Amanda, the front desk clerk, couldn't have been more helpful finding us places to visit and great places to eat for our day in Santa Barbara. We were close enough to the water to walk to the Sunday Art Walk. Room was comfortable and clean. My only complaint may be the shower configuration. Half glass half shower curtain equalled very wet floor and bath mat.Good value for downtown SB.

Room Tip: First floor is a good choice. If not, be sure to use luggage elevator as there is no elevator for hu...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location and the staff were very friendly. The lobby was clean and the hotel had a cute reading area on the second floor. The gym and the business room were small but sufficient. My room was shockingly small and that was the only negative. The bathroom was pretty funny... not only was it tiny, but there was a glass door that you had to move in front of the toilet to separate the area to make a shower. There was also a small shower curtain and you had to pull the shower head down each time you went through this whole procedure to make the shower area! It's a bit difficult to explain, but think Ikea and small Euro apartment. Free wi-fi was good, no breakfast or snacks. Try to not get a room on the side close to the train station, unless you like being woken up mulitple times in the middle of the night. Took my dog with me and that worked well.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room on the side close to the train station, unless you like being woken up mulitpl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trojanheart05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is true what other reviewers have said; close to train tracks, small rooms and no elevator but I like this place. The staff was very nice at all times. The location is great, you can walk to the beach or up State Street to stores and restaurants. It is very artsy. There is a restaurant being built right in the building which will be very nice.

Room Tip: There are two outdoor patios on the second floor with TVs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteyCue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I traveled here with four friends on a girls trip. We traveled from San Diego by train. The hotel is within easy walking distance. The place is spotlessly clean. Decorated very artfully. And the beds are very comfortable. The staff we interjected with we're top notch. Robert , Brandon,Frank,Carmen,Daniel and Johathan. We're extremely helpful. They assisted us with all our needs including great guides to the sites in town. There is a free happy hour each evening from 5 to 7 pm. The local wine they serve is deliciouse. I would gladly tecond this hotel. To anyone

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAgne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $194 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing