We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite horrible”
Review of India House

India House
Ranked #430 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quite horrible”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We came here for an early dinner and thought that was why it was empty however after tasting the food it is more likely that is the reason.
It is a limited menu and not all dishes were available.
We had Pakora and mixed starter - both tasteless and have no idea what was in the mix starter.
We ordered Lamb Jalfrezi and Chicken Vindaloo - the sauces were exactly the same tasteless gunk.
The waiter was unfriendly and offhand.
The whole experience was quite horrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    6
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible service & food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is the pits! Service was awful & the waiter was so unhelpful, the curry was very watery & bland, not particularly cheap & we should have realised as the place was empty, gutted as had such good food in California & this was the worst meal! I'm a real curry fan & this is number 1 in the worst ones I have had
Don't bother going!

Helpful?
Thank DPKS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limone sul Garda, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good deal for a lunch buffet”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I didn't t read the reviews before going to that place if I would I had picked up another place.no idea what people are expecting from a 8.99 dollars lunch buffet on the Main Street in Santa Barbara .we had good food with plenty of choice.every different plate came with its own flavour, fresh cooked and decorous enough .service was quick and friendly.if you know enough by Indian food you should also know that the food is never served too hot but in a mild temperature.i would recommend the place for the lunch buffet.indian people are often shy that doesn't mean they are unfriendly .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zyrylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Unique Santa Barbara experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a colorful completely fun evening at India House! It was Bollywood dance party night and there was exceptional sitar playing with great tabla drummer then more live music to be finished with a fabulous Indian dance instructor who managed to teach a large group an authentic Bollywood routine. Really amazing! Love to just enjoy the great interior filled with Indian antiques and people watch. The buffet was a tasty collection of tandoor and curry dishes and we washed it down with a great beer (1000?) All in all we would say this is a must do when in Santa Barbara.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

***Please read this before wasting your money in the worst quality Indian food. All the food was very old and outdated. If you eat from this restaurant then you will waste your money -Instead please please go to some other restaurant. I went with my friends,the food seemed to be very old(I think it was cooked before at least 2-3 days.After that they do not keep the old food hot. The food temperature should be high enough so that it does not spoil. The curry tasted very horrible and it was not like a real Indian food as we have expected. I have never got this type of bad quality Indian food in my life in USA .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nandan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India House also viewed

 

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing