We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanghai Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #251 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

we ordered takeaway from here after seeing it in the guide book at the quality inn and the food was fresh, well-priced and delicious. Would definitely recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Park, PA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Where's the taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Vegetable soup was good. We got through some of the mu shu vegetables, pork chow fun and sesame chicken just to not be hungry and had to let it go at that. It wasn't bad, just no flavor. Didn't know this was possible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank aubri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Hidden treasure"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Shanghai restaurant is one of the best kept secrets of locals in Santa Barbara. It's tucked away in a small shopping center off Milpas St. near the S.B. county Bowl. We have been going there for 19 years and the same chef and owners have kept up the consistent excellent quality, great service and quiet atmosphere. We love their kung pao dishes and sizzling rice soup. It's a nice low key spot for intimate dinners or family meals.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ownerMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Santa Barbara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I absolutely LOVE Shanghai! I go there with friends/colleagues at least a couple times per month for lunch. They have great lunch specials including the choice of brown rice instead of fried rice, and their vegetarian meals are FABULOUS. My favorite is the vegetarian chicken and broccoli (their tofu is not the spongy stuff, but has texture and great taste). LOVE LOVE LOVE their food! The wait staff are pleasant and service is quick. It's kind of tucked away in a non-descript strip mall, but the inside is nicely decorated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Shanghai Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing