We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
coral gables, fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

We just returned from two nights at the inn. The hotel was fabulous! Our room had a king bed, fireplace, plasma tv and private terrace....it was furnished beautifully with a big bathroom with separate shower and sunken tub.

The service was outstanding. The staff goes out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. We enjoyed the continental breakfast buffet and loved eating it in the lovely courtyard next to the fountain. If we has wanted, they would have brought us our breakfast in the room. "No" is not in their vocabulary.

We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glsebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    167
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
194
690
39
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We just completed a one night stay at The Inn. We enjoyed the place quite a bit, thought since we solely stayed one night perhaps not to the degree of some of the other reviewers. My comments follow surrounding some of the more relevant points of our stay.


Service

Perhaps what impressed me most with the hotel was the service. Thought we checked in at night, and the desk was solely occupied by one person we were treated incredibly kindly. Each attendant knew our names and used them whenever appropriate. We felt that we were the most important guest at the hotel and that we had been staying there for some time. With every staff person we met, we received similar service.

Rooms and Layout

We enjoyed the layout of the property very much. Our room overlooked the pool, though due to our length of stay we did not use the pool. The room was generous in size and bathroom very big. We loved the balcony. Linens were very nice. The courtyard is truly lovely and beautiful to look over.

Breakfast.

The Inn made breakfast very special. This was not just a normal continental breakfast, but something out of Gourmet Magazine. Both quiches were very good. Fruit was fresh. Cereals extremely good. Generous room to eat in and breakfast room opens up right to the courtyard, which as I previously mentioned was beautiful. Believe it or not, a full size espresso machine was part of the package at no additional cost. Truly beautiful.

Location

As other reviews mentioned, very convenient to the historic downtown district and the wharf. Could have been a few blocks closer, but an easy walk never the less.

Parking

The Inn has underground parking. What was especially nice, was the parking was provided at no additional cost. A small touch, but not overlooked.

Summary

A very nice place. We would definitely stay their again. Was nice in every way without being in your face.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Room was not accessable by elevator.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jakester20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

This was a lovely and memorable place. Warm and inviting. Relaxed, friendly, informed and helpful staff. Clean decent size rooms, simple (no fuss decor- but character) and very pleasant. [We actually had a far better level of service at this hotel than we did at the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne]. It is well lcoated and everything on the 'main street' is within easy walking distance.

I have only just joined trip advisor - hence the delay in the write up but actually found this lovely hotel through the great feedback from other members (thank you!). I was actually there on business but my husband came along to help look after our small baby on a 'mini holiday'. They had a ball and the little time I was able to spend there was extremely pleasant. Would love to visit again. I am happy to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviews_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

We just returned from a weekend in Santa Barbara and we loved the Inn of the Spanish Garden! It was quite lovely in every way and the service was the best I've ever experienced. From the moment we arrived, until we left, the staff could not do enough for us. They made our dinner reservations, brought breakfast to our room, gave us directions and info for hiking, anything we needed was taken care of with a smile. Santa Barbara has by far the best climate in So Cal and the hotel is very centrally located and in walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, movies, etc. We recommend The Wine Cask for an awesome dinner. My only complaint is the price which seems unduly high. We paid $425 for a small suite which was a lovely room but not quite worthy of that kind of price. The other thing that bothered me was their wine bar opening for Happy Hour and then they charge $8 for a glass of wine. I think at this price the wine should definitely be complimentary for the guests, as the breakfast is. If I were to stay there again, I'd probably take a smaller room for a lower price. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pasadenababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

Wonderful boutique hotel. The service was that of 5 star Ritz or Four Seasons. Staff were nice. Room was big and well appointed. My only (minor) request would be if they could please heat the swimming pool. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — service was terrific
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely inn. The location was the initial attraction for us, but there is so much more to like about the property. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is located within walking distance of State Street, the historic district and a wonderful array of restaurants. Parking is provided in an underground lot.

Our room overlooked the swimming pool towards the back of the property. We had a balcony, fireplace, huge soaking tub, large shower, flat screen TV, very comfortable bed with top notch linens, and two nice reading chairs near the fireplace. Nightly turndown service (with chocolates!) was a pleasant surprise.

Breakfast is included in the room price. The breakfast area must have been upgraded since one reviewer stayed there, because there are patio tables outside now, as well as linen covered tables inside. We liked their food choices, which included 2 kinds of quiche, granola, yogurt, muffins, bagels, fresh melon and strawberries , juices and specialty coffees (like lattes). They will bring breakfast to your room ,if you prefer.

The overall feel of the property is that of a small, casually elegant retreat. You get the sense that there is no need to dress up (we didn't) but you wouldn't feel out of place if you did.

  • Liked — ambiance, location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

My wife and I celebrated our 10th year Anniversary @ the Inn! Great place! The staff was so helpful and friendly, our room was fantastic and the privacy factor was a 10!! We walked a few blocks to State street where we enjoyed shopping and dinning at some great local places. We would come back here in a second the next time we are in town. If you want to stay away from the "mega room" hotels that do not have the personal service then this is the place for you. The continental breakfast was also good, as well as the wine hour that was all part of our Anniversary experience. Reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in town.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank falcon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing