We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Spanish Garden Inn”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This location is ideal for anyone wanting a superb room with world class service. The grounds are inviting with plenty of space to relax. It is perfectly located for walking anywhere downtown. There is covered parking and wifi which is also a big plus. There is nothing we would change about this spot. We stayed for five days and had a tremendous experience. There is a great selection for a continental breakfast, along with small bites and wine tastings in the evenings. Afternoons are greeted with tea/lemonade bar along with small snacks. Every staff person we interacted with welcomed us and worked diligently to ensure we had an outstanding stay. We highly recommend this property. And look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Judi,

It was such a pleasure to have you with us for the week. We love 'slow travelers' who really take the time to enjoy all that a city like ours has to offer. Thank you for the generous review. I will be sure to let the staff know how much you appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I just came back from our stay. What a lovely and romantic hotel! The staff was great and we had a fantastic stay! I totally recommend staying here - it is top notch! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, Director of Sales at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Meredith H,
Thank you for the positive feedback on our "hidden gem" property. It means a lot to read you had a "fantastic stay". I'm glad you were able to experience the romantic charm here and will come back to visit us.
Enjoy your travels!
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything about this hotel is charming, with a wonderful Mediterranean vibe. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. I stayed in a queen room (14), which also had a small terrace - perfect to sit in the late afternoon sun and work, relax, drink. It's the staff that really make this hotel. They have great attention to detail, show genuine interest in guests, are responsive to requests and very friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, Director of Sales at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello sb1London,
So glad you liked the property. Now your review is one that will assist others! It's true, our rooms are larger than average which adds to the relaxing feeling here. The terraces and balconies bring the outdoors in, while maintaining a private feeling. As you mentioned, our staff truly are interested in making your stay a positive one and providing the information you need. I look forward to your next stay with us!
My very best,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had two nights here during a west coast trip. Loved Santa Barbara and this hotel is well placed.
Nice pool although needed to have the leaves cleared more often! Lovely patio for breakfast or after diner drinks around the table fire.
Would definitely recommend, it's also an easy walk into town.
We ate at two places both excellent but our favourite was the Lebanese Zaytoon which was just around the corner. Wonderful atmosphere and great food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Marcho,

Zaytoon is a favorite lunch spot for our staff as well. So convenient and delicious. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We do clear the leaves twice a day around the pool but it has been windy lately and can be hard to keep up.

We will see you next visit!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

So my husband and I travel all the time and I'm one tough customer. I expect everything. Nice linens. Quiet spacious room. Multiple options for breakfast. Quick response if there is a problem. Knowledgeable helpful staff with excellent attitude. Convenient location to whatever there is to see and do.
Well. .... This place has it all. PLUS... In room fireplace was delightful. Balcony was special.
My only critique is to say that staff should ask guests in the courtyard to shut down after 10p or 11p at the latest (1130p was a bit late I thought).
What a delightful visit. There is a reason this place is #1. They clearly strive for it. It shows and they should be proud and pleased.
My advise to SANTA BARBARA visitors is. ..... If you can afford it. . . You should stay here!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank PickyDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dianne,

Guests who have the highest expectations for their visit are exactly the type of challenge we love! Thank you for the kudos and for the review. My apologies for the noise in the courtyard. Its a judgement call for the team to make when we decide to quiet things down and it sounds like we were a little to lenient that particular night.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel once before in 2006 and said that we wanted to return some day because we thought it was such a nice and special place to stay. Since that visit we have done extensive traveling and raised our level of expectations for our hotel stays. So upon our return, we were slightly nervous that our first experience could not be duplicated. Within minutes of our arrival however, those concerns were gone as we knew right away that even after all these years and some really wonderful hotel stays, our return here was going to be just as great as the first time.

What sets this hotel apart from others is its small size and charming architecture. You feel like you are staying at a small boutique hotel somewhere in the Mediterranean. Our room choice was a junior suite which we enjoyed. It had a sitting area with two chairs set towards the fireplace, a nice writing desk, and a bedroom area partly set off by a large archway. French doors opened to a terrace with two chairs and a table overlooking the pool. The bathroom was large with a soaking tub and separate shower. The room had a charming and comfortable Spanish style atmosphere, and did not feel at all like a standard hotel room.

We had breakfast each morning which can be taken in a small cute dining room or out in the main courtyard if the weather is warm. A basic cold item breakfast is served with juices, fruits, pastries, and cereals. One hot item is severed each day and as long as you like quiche you will be very happy. A broader hot menu rotation might be appreciated by some of the hotel’s guests.

The grounds of the hotel are small, but very charming with courtyards, alleyways, and archways. The pool is nice and set in its own courtyard. It is large enough to swim laps, and has loungers around if you just want to relax.

The staff at the hotel is very nice and friendly and this plays well off the casual setting of the hotel. You almost feel like you are staying at a friend’s house versus a hotel. A friend that makes you delicious homemade cookies to come back to.

The location cannot be beat. Just three attractive blocks from the middle of State Street, plus parking is easy with a garage on the lower level of the hotel.

It all comes together to create a special and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

J&A,

8 years is a long time to go between visits! Thank you for adding some lovely photos to your detailed review. I know it will be a huge help to anyone researching our hotel.

We are, actually, currently exploring options for a more diverse hot menu for our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for the feedback.

The world is a big place with so much to see but please don't wait 8 years to return, we'd love to see you sooner!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you choose to stay at this hotel you should enjoy your stay very much. It is located downtown and very close to shopping and restaurants. The room we had (#3) was large and very clean. The sleep quality was great as we never heard a sound from other rooms or the outside. The grounds are very nice with a great courtyard for relaxing with wine, or enjoying your breakfast. We had a few minor issues, but overall this place is great and what really makes it is the staff. Every single employee was professional and helpful in all respects, probably some of the best we have ever experienced in the entire country. When you receive wonderful customer service it certainly improves your stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Major12,

Our staff thanks you for the kind words. We do our best to make travelers feel at home while staying with us and we appreciate it when guests such as yourself take the time to thank us for our efforts.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
880 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $332 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing