We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spanish Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$222
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$384
$360
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$237
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
$465
$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveler rating
1,085
180
31
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
180
31
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheunderground parkingmolton brown productsstate streetfrench pressthree blocksjunior suiteseparate showerfew blocksbeautiful courtyardgas fireplacecookiesprivate patioboutique hotelsmall hotelspanish styleyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Parents and two teenagers stayed in the beautiful and spacious Majestic Suite for 2 nights. Only drawback for family stay is that the bathroom is only accessible through the bedroom and there is no door except for the toilet area which means the shower and tub are "out there". The living room had a double sleeper sofa and we added a rollaway for our son. Only drawback was two TVs and one remote. Even though we asked for another one, it never materialized. If you travel with children and want space in the refrigerator, ask for an empty one.The property is artfully designed and decorated and possesses a lovely Spanish feel with patios, fountains and small pool. Walk through the whole grounds all the way to the back and onto the neighboring street. Breakfast was as described elsewhere and very filling. It is a short stroll to the major shopping, sites and restaurants. A very charming place.

Room Tip: Majestic Suite would be great for a romantic stay.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveljurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Spanish Garden Inn in SB. This is a well run hotel on a residential street 3 blocks from State Street. There were 4 of us and we had a first floor room with a large bedroom and a separate living area with a sofa bed. There were french doors that opened out onto a private patio. Our bathroom was large with a big tub and separate shower. There were Molten Brown toiletries in the room, which smelt very good!
The hotel is clean and very nicely decorated, with Spanish tile floors throughout and nice furnishings. Breakfast is included in the room rate. There was a choice of 3 different cereals, fresh fruit, Yoplait yogurts, hard boiled eggs, croissants and pastries, bagels, toast, jams, cream cheese. Coffee, teas and juices. There is also a menu consisting of smoothies, quiche, cold meat/cheese plate and lattes, espressos etc which you can order from the servers. The breakfast is served in a lovely room, or you can eat outside on the patio.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped us with directions, restaurants etc.
There is a small covered parking lot under the hotel which is free of charge for guests. And there is also free internet, which my kids enjoyed using for their laptops.
The only negative I could find with this hotel was the gym. It is not really a gym, but just a small outside patio area with one elliptical machine and one treadmill. I like to workout on my travels and was expecting a gym with some weight equipment. I used the elliptical and treadmill 2 nights out of the 3.
On the whole, I would say this is a beautiful Inn and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay here.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the first floor with a separate living area. If you are traveling as a family, this is the best room as there is a sofa bed in the living room and 2 TV's.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mercedesbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for the detailed and glowing review. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us in Santa Barbara. Just to let you know, we are currently working on a revamping of the fitness equipment in order to improve that experience for our guests. Thank you for your feedback in that area.

I hope that you can visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

From booking the hotel to checking out, it was a very pleasant experience. We received a phone call & email prior to arriving offering their concierge services. Upon arriving, we were given coupons & personal recommendations for winery's & places to eat. It felt like we were talking to a friend. They offer a great selection of DVDs & games to borrow & offer to make you popcorn. The hotel itself was very clean & beautiful. My fiancé was a big fan of the complementary breakfast's cheese & meat platter.
Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Barbara!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mille4ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. Calling all of our guests prior to their arrival to see if we can enhance their stay in Santa Barbara is one of the personal touches that we very much enjoy doing and we get great feedback on it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara, what a well-run hotel! From check-in to concierge assistance, through breakfast to convenient parking in a great location, this hotel has it all. An especial shout-out to Nico for his great advice on local restaurants, his recommendations suited our requirements perfectly. We were in town for a short break and to attend a concert at the Lobero Theater where Lake Street Dive were playing. For our needs this hotel was perfectly located, just a short walk to the theater and within 10 minutes stroll to a wide variety of excellent eateries. There were even eggs hidden around for easter (unfortunately our little munchkin missed out on that as she was in church with her mom!) but while I'd say the hotel is somewhat more geared to the adults they definitely cater to the smaller travelers also! Would definitely recommend staying here and we will for sure be back in the near future, very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

So nice to hear that your Easter weekend spent with us in Santa Barbara was such a success. Thank you for sharing your review with us. I will pass on to Nico you kind words about his advice. The whole team takes great pride in tailoring our suggestions for restaurants to the guests specific needs.

Sound like we will see you again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Inn was truly fantastic. It's three blocks away from State Street. They provide great service. We travelled with our 5 month old and our 2 year old and they were very accommodating. Great value for our money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaasensio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews