We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great blend makes for a special place”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 24, 2012

For spouse and I, a big anniversary on the Pacific far from home back East was boosted by the Spanish Garden Inn's wonderful blend of location, style, service and many little touches. The result is exactly what we like most: being away but feeling like we're at home. From long experience, we know excellence is never accidental. The service, the smiles, the breakfast room, the easy garage, Brian's happy enthusiasm at the front desk are all additive. No plastic plants, polyester sheets or dead light bulbs, just quiet terraces and patios to remind you that you are in Southern Califormia even in December. A special place.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains from east-facing windows did the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Handyman301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn for the first time in November. it was lovely. Rooms are well appointed, service was extremely good and the breakfast was just perfect. The Inn has a great location. We could walk to dinner each night - although Santa Barbara has no street lights, which makes the side streets kind of dark for walking. Our hosts were generous with their time and recommendations. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual. The Inn is a great base for exploring Santa Barbara, the coast and the nearby wine country.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear litho,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We hope it is the first of many future visits. I would agree with you that our location is an excellent one for those who want to explore downtown Santa Barbara's exceptional dining scene on foot.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at the SGI several times and have always had a spectacular visit. As stated in other reviews the rooms are quite spacious and cosy at the same time. Being that we were there during the holidays the last few years we take Christmas twinkle lights and other holiday amenities to make our digs holiday appropriate.
The continental breakfast and newspaper selection make the morning so pleasant. The cinnamon rolls, smoothies, quiche etc are wonderful as are the breakfast crew that are so helpful.
The central location is another bonus. We truly enjoy parking our car and walking throughout Santa Barbara. You are a hop, skip, and a jump from shopping, great dining, the museum and theaters.
The amenities in the rooms are luxe as well, Molton Brown products and the largest plushest bath towels anywhere. In summary all of the above made our stay memorable, yet again!

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilldeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Jilldeville,

Thank you for making the Spanish Garden Inn a regular part of your holiday festivities. I love that you take the time and effort to decorate your guest room for the season. What a terrific idea!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just one before returning to Australia from LAX. Good central location in Santa Barbara and also to Los Angeles international airport.

The rooms were clean and spacious, with a lovely view over a private hotel pool in the garden. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had a really enjoyable stay here. Not sure about how this place compares to any other Inn around Santa Barbara, but on its own merits I'd rate it 100%.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Jimmy C,

Thank you for the very nice review. We are happy to hear that, though brief, you enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara. Should your travels bring you stateside again in the future, we would love to welcome you back for a repeat visit.

Have a very Happy Holidays,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This small hotel offers friendly, casual service - rather than formal, reverential service. We were probably expecting something a bit more formal at these prices. The rooms, though, are very comfortable (gas log fire and Molton Brown toiletries).
There is no restaurant. Again, quite a surprise at such an expensive hotel. The main street in Santa Barbara is only a 10-15 minute walk - but the main street is very, very long and you might be walking another 20 minutes to find the restaurant you want. as it rained all the time we were there we used the room service at the hotel. They offer tomato soup and cheese - very nice, but a bit repetitive.
The continental breakfast was laid out on a very attractive buffet. The food was always very good and someone made sure that it was constantly replenished and tidied.
The hotel sign is very discreet (easy to miss) and the car park is unmarked. Fine once you jhave found them - difficult the first time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for the kind review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our "California Friendly" service and, though it might not have been what you were expecting, it sounds like you found it to be a pleasant experience.

Our "Small Bites" room service menu is designed to fill the needs of an afternoon snack or a late night craving. I can understand that you might have found it too small a selection for repeat meals.

Please contact me directly should your travels take you through Santa Barbara again. I'll do my best to guarantee you a warm and sunny stay and get you eating at Santa Barbara's best local restaurants.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved this hotel. We had a spacious, clean, very comfortable room (room #6, which would be called a suite anywhere else, with living room/fireplace) with tasteful and attractive Santa Barbara-cozy-style decor. Reception staff was excellent, pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was delicious.
Well located within a few blocks from the main downtown shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bet527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your comments to the Reception staff. The room you stayed in is in fact one of our Junior Suites and is our best selling category due to the extra large sitting area.

We hope to see you at the hotel again before too much time passes. Have a very Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Spanish Garden Inn is one of the nicest hotels I've visited! The room was huge, beautiful balcony, amazing bathroom, huge shower, nice TV, very very spacious. This was for my 40th birthday, expensive, but very much worth it for a special occasion. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get the executive King!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancerGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. So happy to have been a part of your special occasion. And I stick by my assertion that there was an error on your birth certificate and you must have been turning 29...

Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $331 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing