We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Lovely”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet and Lovely”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our room was great, very spacious. The staff was super friendly, any time we walked in or out of the hotel. We stayed for two nights and never saw housekeeping--they were so stealth!

Molten Brown amenities were fantastic! The location was great, bed was great, courtyard was beautiful. The free underground parking was very convenient. I can't think of anything I'd want changed.

You can't go wrong with this inn if you want to stay in town. It fits right in with everything that is Santa Barbara! We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Executive king with fireplace is roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on offering personal service with our Guest Service Hosts and Brian is one of our best. Please come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    171
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
202
705
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Gorgeous hotel , Very quiet and private, great location!
Excellent customer service. We mainly dealt with Brian who was so kind and accomodating. He went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was excellent.
I have stayed at numerous hotels througout the United States and Europe,and this was the best experience I have ever had. When we ran into a few issues but Brian was promp to attend to them never letting us down.

Location was walking distance to everything that you would want to do in Santa Barbara. (just a short walk to state street).

The breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to start your day.

We really enjoyed our stay at spanish garden and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on offering personal service with our Guest Service Hosts and Brian is one of our best. Please come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is quite surprising to find such an oasis of peace and beauty in downtown SB. The place is just superb, the rooms are quite large, simply but very nicely decorated, the bathroom is very spacious, the beds are excellent . The courtyard is just plain lovely. The hotel is very quite and offers a good service, with free and easy parking just under the hotel. We couldn't have found a better place in SB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel with large rooms and fantastic customer service. Very expensive but worth it for a treat. Nice pool and lovely Molton Brown toiletries. A five minute walk from the main street where there's a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a beautiful retreat into a Spanish garden atmosphere. The room was spacious with a beautiful garden/pool view, breakfast wonderful on the terrace and friendly staff. I accidentally left my jacket behind and the staff were very helpful in having it couriered back to me. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickendip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay here in August in celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with a vacation to Santa Barbara. The staff of this hotel is excellent. They go out of their way to be pleasant and accommodating without interfering. Izumi and Maureen on the front-desk staff were especially helpful and made us feel like family rather than clients. Among the amenities are free parking in a nice garage right next to the hotel; free wi-fi, which worked quite well for IPads; free breakfast, which was plentiful and fresh with great variety (kudos to the hard-working kitchen staff); and free beverages (coffee, tea, lemonade) all day and night. We had a long stay (9 nights) for this special occasion. Staff surprised us with a complimentary, first-rate fruit/cheese tray for our anniversary. Our junior suite was very roomy, comfortable. Nice location to downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool area seemed best. We had a first-floor room, which we liked, but late in our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridians772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your 25th Anniversary. If there were an award for best guests of the summer, you would have won it hands down. All the staff commented on what a pleasure it was to assist you. Please don't wait another 25 years before returning to Santa Barbara and staying with us again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay at The Inn of The Spanish Garden was wonderful - but my checkbook is hurting!

Great room, nice bathroom, friendly staff, good downtown location, good complimentary breakfast, wonderful city; what else do you want?

If you can afford well over $400 per night (including the steep SB room taxes) for a king-bed room - nothing. Go and enjoy!

However, if that's a little (or a lot) steep, keep looking. We had a wonderful stay, and the hotel couldn't have been any better, physically. But, in my opinion, I think it's overpriced. Santa Barbara IS an expensive town, so I may be off base here, but that's my feeling.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms in the main building overlook the patio, also they have an elevator. Some other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing