We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Perfect Romantic Getaway
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the inn of the Spanish Garden. I chose this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews and was very satisfied with our stay. The hotel is small but beautiful and fits right in with the Santa Barbara architecture. It feels like a boutique hotel, which is what my husband and I prefer. The front desk staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The property itself is kept emmaculately clean. Rooms were nice and our King Suite offered a fireplace and a small patio off the room. Other travelers were right in saying this hotel is 3 blocks off State street but get your walking shoes on and you'll be okay! We did do a LOT of waking because we rode the train from Orange County and did the "Car Free" package. But the neighborhoods we walked thru felt safe at night and the historic areas of the Presido and Courthouse are very close by.

Breakfast was good. Lots of fresh fruits, pastries, bagels, yogurt, granola, fresh coffees, teas. Some mornings quiche was offered. The only complaint I had, was that it was hit or miss whether the kitchen staff offered quiche on a particular day. We never did figure that one out. They did offer a meat and cheese plate that I had a few mornings.

During the day, the hotel has 3 different cold beverages offered in the dining room (ice tea, lemonade and water with different fruits infused in the water). Very nice touch. Wine was offered @ $10/glass in the afternoon but not until 5:30pm. Better off grabbing a bottle of wine at a grocery store and taking it back to drink on the pretty patio area as early as you want. Also every afternoon fresh baked cookies were offered to guests. The white chocolate macadamia cookies rocked!! :-) Other nice touches in the evening included a fire pit on the patio that was always lit and lots of little candle votives lit the entrance way every evening.

We asked one of the staff for a restaurant recommendation for good seafood. He recommended Arch Rock and we were not disappointed. When we mentioned we were staying at Inn of the Spanish Garden, they gave us a FREE calamari appetizer! :-)

I also want to thank the staff for giving us a drink coupon for our anniversary which we were celebrating as well as the thank you note we rec'd when we got home thanking us for our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpanishGardenInn, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us.

My apologies for the inconsistent offering of the quiche at breakfast. It was simply a matter of too much demand and not enough quiche on some of our busiest days of the year. We believe we have resolved the issue moving forward.

It is true that our wine bar officially opens at 5:15pm, however our Guest Service hosts can happily provide our guests with wine by the glass or by the bottle at any time the guest desires.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at the Spanish Garden Inn and hope to see you again in the near future.

-Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Spanish Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    155
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
161
596
32
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our stay at Inn of the Spanish Garden only could have been better had we been able to stay longer. The Hotel is inspirational....really. We would find reasons to just hang around there instead of going out to be SB tourists. The owner was a real person, happy and genuine. The staff kind and friendly and jeez just everything you could want from the hospitality industry. Customer service is their mantra. Worth every penny it cost to stay here. We will be back and this time my husband says we'll stay a whole week! OH BOY!

Room Tip: GOSH ARE THERE ANY BAD ONES? We were poolside upstairs and that was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We (2 adults 2 kids) came a Sunday looking for 2 days in Santa Barbara. We found the place via tripadvisor and a recommendation at the local visitor center. Once we made the deal for two days and got settled in we realized that this was special and we extended with another three days. We found smiles, service, uniqueness, authenticness, very clean rooms, allot of value for money ! We will be back. NB very nice little pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalleGJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a very charming boutique hotel. The location is very close to restaurants and shops. My only complaint (which is minor) is that they should upgrade the hair dryers in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed one night for business at the Inn of the Spanish Garden. I wish all hotels were like this. It was my dream inn!

There is free parking in the lot below the main building and when I arrived, I was greeted by a really friendly clerk. There were also yummy free cookies at the front desk!

My room was fantastic. There was a comfy big bed, a fireplace, flatscreen TV, small private patio, giant bathtub and giant shower. They have Molton Brown toiletries, which are a personal favorite. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet.

Breakfast in the morning was wonderful, with lots of options - fresh fruit, yogurt, baked items, cereal, and more. I also used the small outdoor workout area with an elliptical machine, which was so pleasant and much nicer than a cramped workout room with no windows!

All in all, from start to finish, this was a fantastic inn. I would stay there again anytime I visited Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beautiful and charming small boutique hotel in perfect location for sight seeing in downtown Santa Barbara. We loved our room (#1) which was perfect for three. We even had a small patio for enjoying coffee or a glass of wine. Very helpful staff, 24-hr water/tea/coffee service and a lovely pool for lazy afternoon swims. We love Santa Barbara and this will be our go-to hotel in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Exceeded my expectations even though I had booked this based on reading tripadvisor reviews. An absolutely beautiful gem of a hotel, our only negative was that we only stayed for one night! Room was excellent, courtyard and pool area beautiful, delicious breakfast, super-friendly and helpful staff. Santa Barbara itself is just beautiful as well - can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Double queen overlooking courtyard is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing