We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar one-night stay at this lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Stellar one-night stay at this lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

True perfection at a fraction of the cost ;-)! My 21 year old niece and I shared a double queen enormously spacious upstairs room at this wonderful boutique hotel, while also checking out UCSB as a potential college transfer for her. Fireplace, patio overlooking the verdant pool/garden area, two extremely plush and comfortable queen beds, superb bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries, thick towels, well-stocked bar with many nice edible goodies, desk, flat screen TV, nice cotton waffle robes - goodness, what more could we want? And yes, the breakfast in the morning was light but delicious - mmm, that spinach quiche. And the chocolate cookies upon arrival! Not to mention the ample garage with FREE parking. If my niece gets accepted at UCSB, this will become my second home. Love, love, love.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We recently spent 1 night in Santa Barbara at the Inn of the Spanish Garden and both were so beautiful we were sad that we hadn't planned a longer stay. The Inn is one of those places that is very difficult to fault - welcoming, friendly and incredibly comfortable. The very large rooms are full of simple, stylish & luxurious touches ... everything you could possibly want including many things you don't even know that you might want (Molton Brown bath products!).

The staff were lovely and recommended a great restaurant for dinner (Arch Rock Fish). We finished our evening with a large glass of Pinot Noir sitting by the fires in the courtyard.

I would urge anyone considering a visit to Santa Barbara to treat themselves to a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: As recommended by other travellers we requested a room upstairs overlooking the courtyard and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We live in Santa Barbara and The Inn of the Spanish Garden is where we stay when we have work done on our house that requires we move out for a couple days (e.g., floor refinishing). This small, boutique hotel is a great find. The Spanish courtyard and touches in the rooms make this place very special. It is located just a couple of blocks off of the main street, State Street, in downtown which makes walking anywhere downtown quite doable. This is the place we have put up visitors who come to town on business and they are forever grateful.

Room Tip: Restaurant to my knowledge is breakfast only, but snacks & wine available all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Just the right size and walking distance to everything.

Rooms ate awesome as well as the staff. Made us great reservations for dinner: Downey's and Seagrass. Great experience.

Thx!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sntacruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at the Inn of the Spanish Garden. It was our first visit to Santa Barbara and this little hideaway was perfect. Just a few blocks from the hustle and bustle of State Street, this quiet boutique hotel was in walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. And only a 15 minute walk to the ocean. Our room (Number 10) overlooked the small pool area, was quiet, spacious and clean. Every morning we were greeted by the cordial staff overseeing the continental breakfast (lattes included). The personnel at the front desk were valuable in helping us restaurant selections, hiking areas and sight seeing ideas....special kudos to Brian and Izimu. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Barbara, but would not recommend to families with small children...to us it was the perfect 'adult' getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boymomOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in January and the weather was cool. Our room had a gas fireplace, as most or all rooms do, which was both attractive and effective at taking the chill off of the room. There was also a regular heat/ac system. The room was spacious, nice seating area by the fire, nice bathroom and amenities. It is near the courhouse and shopping yet in a very quiet location. Our room and balcony overlooked an open courtyard with a fountain which would be a great place to lounge in warmer weather. Breakfast was included and was good. Wine is available and some limited snack items from the kitched. The cheese plate was great and enough for four people. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. We felt comfortable and "at home" from the minute we got there. It gets a little $$$$ during higher demand times but is definitely worth some extra dollars.

Room Tip: Some rooms on second floor require access by stairs. There is underground parking with an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

When i want to stay someplace romantic in Santa Barbara, something smaller and more personal than the Biltmore (another favorite) i always come to the Inn at the Spanish garden. All of the rooms have fire places, bath tubs and comfortable beds- perfect for romance and relaxation! Even cozy when it rains!

Free wine tastings in the lobby give you a chance mingle if you want, or just something fun to do before dinner. Locations is very central to downtown if you want to go out, and the staff is very knowledgeable and helpful if you want to set up an wine tasting or other excursions.

if i recall correctly, they don't have a restaurant so no room service, but they make up for it with their DVD library (i just love this at a hotel, i don't know why!)

Anyhow, if you stay here for either romance or business, i don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: I prefer NOT over the pool for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel_snob0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing