We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for walking in Santa Barbara”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July, 2011 on a Santa Barbara getaway. It was a lovely hotel and the plus for us was that we could walk to the downtown shops and restaurants easily. The original room we had was too close to the elevator so we were upgraded to a nicer room at no extra charge. The rooms were nice, Spanish decor, comfortable, clean with Molton Brown amenities. There was a complimentary continental breakfast each morning which was very nice (yogurt, fruit, pastries, coffee, tea, juices and my husband found they would make him a latte!) I would recommend this hotel for anyone not needing a beachfront hotel -- it seemed more of an adult hotel than where we would bring our children as it would be a drive to any of the beaches. We loved it and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3boysScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

A delightfully pleasant Spanish courtyard where you take your free breakfast out by the foutain, read the paper, listen to the birds sing, and totally relax. Beautifully serene rooms and gardens. A lovely small pool which is quiet for reflection. Wonderful service and just a few short blocks from the main part of town. Great Mexican restaurant on the next block in back of the hotel. Love this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We don't get away often (we need to -- but it's hard when raising a family) so when we do, our expectations run high. Thankfully, there were so many things to like & want to revisit at the Inn that we were were thrilled with our recent stay here! The location is great; Santa Barbara is a very walkable town and the Inn is close to the main shops & restaurants on State St. We appreciated the free underground parking & Wi-Fi. Beyond the practicalities, we loved the comfort & romance: the over-sized bathtub, soft linens & towels, & wonderful bath products. There are also so many places to sit & relax, whether on your own private balcony, poolside, or out at the Inn's patio/fountain area. I used the "gym" (1 elliptical machine + 1 treadmill + some free weights in a tiny area by the pool) -- but it's sufficient provided others aren't waiting to use it too. My husband & I always travel with earplugs, which I'd suggest here to muffle the occasional city sounds of sirens, car alarms, etc...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We decided to go to Santa Barbara to celebrate our anniversary and, based on tripadvisor reviews, stayed at the Inn of the Spanish Garden.

Being able to park our car and then have the freedom to walk everywhere was fantastic. We ate well, enjoyed walks to the beach and the weekly Farmer's Market and came back to the ideally situated inn to relax before going out for dinner.

Breakfast could have been better but it was fine and, since the weather was lovely, we opted to enjoy it on the patio. Gratis iced tea was available all day and cookies at night. Wine was available in the late afternoon and, since it was our anniversary, was complimentary. Although we only stayed one night, we were in Santa Barbara two full days and felt as rested as if we had been away for a week.

The only downside but not a problem for us -- we had a second floor room (with a lovely balcony, fireplace, etc.) but there was no elevator in that section of the hotel. Be sure to let the hotel know if you cannot climb stairs. Covered parking is under the hotel. We would definietly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have a lovely time at the Spanish inn. The room was large, sunny and had a great bathroom. They are located about 3 blocks from State street shops and restaurants. Highlight was the Concierge's recommendation for a restaurant - Bouchon - which was only a short walk from the hotel. It was fantastic! They have "Guest Servers" rather than bell-hops etc, and I found it funny that anytime I looked like I was about to tip someone, they ran out of the room! But it was a lovely hotel. Loved the Moulton Brown bathroom products...shame they didn't provide travel size samples you could take with you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The location was about 3 blocks from main area. Loved the Spanish style. Building was purpose built and not too many years old. Service was absolutely topnotch. Room decor was nice, also roomy. Only suggestion may have been more, or brighter lighting. Bathroom was pleasant. Had outdoor balcony Rm 18 overlooking plants and pool. No small children running around when we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ORsnobtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

From start to finish the service and the congenial attitudes of the staff were outstanding. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and common areas and gardens. We would definitely return. They supplied a continental breakfast buffet..cereal, yogurt, quiche, then for afternoon water and iced tea. There is no actual restaurant, which is very acceptable since Santa Barbara has many restaurants from which to choose in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
581 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $392 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing