We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good!”
Review of Mac's Fish & Chips Shop - CLOSED

Mac's Fish & Chips Shop
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprisingly good!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After having the delicious fish and chips, I found myself craving to go back again. Atmosphere is simple and basic, but perfectly suitable.... Very tasty and the price is great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    82
    32
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara ca
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips outside of Cleethorpes England”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is the real thing. Mac is there to make sure you get exactly the best fish and chips to be found for thousands of miles.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank peternoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average fish and chips”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband is Scottish, from Glasgow. I thought it would be a treat to take him to this place for fish and chips. The food was average. The fish was hard and tasteless and a bit too oily as the batter didn't stick on the fish. The chips were soggy and tasteless. It was good that there were huge containers of ketchup and hot sauce on hand to give your mouth a jolt. We also had a cup of clam chowder and despite it being very oily, it had very good flavor with a lot of black pepper. The decor is plain with photos of places from around the u.k. Other than that there were tvs in the walls and a small fireplace that can only be enjoyed by the one table in front of it. It is not a meal that I would care to have again. $35 for two regular portions of fish and chips, one clam chowder and a beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2Depart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So tasty!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We saw this restaurant on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and knew we had to try it out. The fish was so delicious. You could tell it was fresh. We didn't love the fries, but overall I would definitely eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornoch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No more British than flying through the air !”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We live in Santa Barbara for five to six months every year for the last seven years , coming from the UK .
We were so excited with macs fish and chips NOT ! No more British fish and chips than an American burger !
In the UK the chips are dryed in lard with NO Cajun spice just plain and crispy and the fish is haddock or cod in a light batter with salt and vinegar NOT a blob of thick yuck under cooked .
Worst fish and chips ever nothing like British fish and chips and your pies are to peppery ! Go home and re think .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weelou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Fish & Chips Shop also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing